Astrelis
Long-term acute care hospital · Shreveport, LA

INTENSIVE SPECIALTY HOSPITAL

CCN 192010CADDO PARISHVoluntary non-profit - PrivateUrban (USDA RUCC)196 bedsLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Shreveport, LA. It ran an operating loss of 9.1% in FY25 on $54.0M of operating revenue. It held 8 days of cash on hand. Operating margin declined from -8.2% in FY21 to -9.1% in FY25, though it rose 20.8 points in the most recent year.

Operating margin · FY25
-9.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
20.8 pts vs FY24
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Days cash on hand · FY25
8d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
7 days vs FY24
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Total operating revenue · FY25
$54.0M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$0.0M vs FY24
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
-9.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
20.6 pts vs FY24
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
One point of operating margin at INTENSIVE SPECIALTY HOSPITAL is about $540K per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-9.1% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-9.1% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
8d (FY25)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
0.15× (FY25)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
-80% (FY25)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
4d (FY25) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue54,82151,10550,098
Other operating revenue3282,8213,870
Total operating revenue55,14953,92753,968
Total operating expenses61,21470,05158,896
Operating income(6,066)(16,124)(4,928)
Operating margin %-11.0%-29.9%-9.1%
Investment income432
Other non-operating, net4,7046511
Net income(1,358)(16,056)(4,915)
Net income %-2.3%-29.7%-9.1%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 196-bed hospital running at 34% occupancy, where 11% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
33.9%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
66.59
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
196
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
993
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
24 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$2,430
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$59,311
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
11.2%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
How the care measures up
No public quality measures are reported for this facility in the current Care Compare refresh.

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-8.2%-5.3%-11.0%-29.9%-9.1%FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
25 days13 days5 days2 days8 daysFY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this hospital serves

CADDO PARISH, LA
Median household income
$50.1K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
22.3%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
7.7%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
18.4%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
26.0%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 12.9% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 25.7% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Caddo Parish County

Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$58.9M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$24.8M
$20.8M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$135.5M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin (as filed)FY25Astrelis calculation

-9.1% operating margin in FY25.

The Board Briefing

Operating margin improved 20.8 points vs FY24 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a valid same-year peer pool was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 12 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc