Financial anchor year: FY23. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY23. Balance-sheet measures (current ratio, equity financing, days in A/R) use FY24, the latest filing whose balance sheet reconciled as filed. Days cash on hand is FY24, the most recent year that passed the display gate. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read
A hospital in KS. It ran an operating loss of 22.8% in FY23 on $1.2M of operating revenue. It held 14 days of cash on hand in FY24, its most recent reported liquidity (22nd percentile of 1,325 Critical Access Hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). 4 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 6.1%.
Operating margin · FY23
-22.8%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals12th pctl of 1,330 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
14d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals22nd pctl of 1,325 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$1.2M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals0th pctl of 1,356 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY23
+6.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals61st pctl of 1,331 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at Critical Access Hospital · CCN 171342 is about $12K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).
Where Critical Access Hospital sits among Critical Access Hospitals
Operating margin · FY23 pool · n = 1,330 of 1,399 filed
Each point is one Critical Access Hospital in the national FY23 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Critical Access Hospital FY23 median is -3.1%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One critical access hospitalCritical AccessCritical Access Hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
253d (FY24) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Medicare inpatient contribution margin
-27.1% (FY24)
11th percentile of 171 CAHs (FY24 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
Medicare outpatient contribution margin
-117.6% (FY24)
5th percentile of 171 CAHs (FY24 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
$ in thousands
Line item
FY22
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
6,837
7,229
904
Other operating revenue
446
431
302
Total operating revenue
7,283
7,659
1,206
Total operating expenses
8,976
9,403
2,641
Operating income
(1,692)
(1,743)
(1,435)
Operating margin %
-23.2%
-22.8%
—
Grants & contributions
353
2,324
23
Investment income
2
5
0
Other non-operating, net
15
20
3
Net income
(1,322)
606
(1,409)
Net income %
-17.3%
+6.1%
—
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states.FY24 · Operating and total margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -1,737K · Net patient revenue 904KFY23 · Days cash on hand: -1 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 25-bed hospital running at 1% occupancy, where swing beds are 98% of the inpatient business, and 82% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
0.7%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
0.17
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
25
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
11
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
2 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$125,767
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$240,100
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
6.86
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
97.5%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
81.8%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$0.4M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
As a Critical Access Hospital, this facility is exempt from most CMS public quality-measure programs. No public measures are reported for it. That is a program design fact, not a quality signal.
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
State context
Kansas
County-level statistics: linkage not established— this record's county mapping is not verified in the resolved spine, and we never place a facility in a county by guesswork. State-level context appears here once a state aggregate layer lands.
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to its county
Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$2.6M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$6.1M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is a critical access hospital, the NCRHW study population. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Medicare inpatient contribution marginFY24Astrelis calculation from reported HCRIS inputs
-27.1% — 11th percentile of 171 matched CAH peers (FY24).
The Board Briefing
What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.
CAH Performance Benchmark: FY23 peer pool · n = 1,330 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.