Astrelis
Urban PPS hospital · Glendale Heights, IL

UCHICAGO MEDICINE ADVENTHEALTH GLENOAKS

CCN 140292DUPAGE CountyVoluntary non-profit - OtherUrban (USDA RUCC)124 bedsLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Glendale Heights, IL. It ran an operating loss of 2.9% in FY24 on $131.9M of operating revenue. It held 60 days of cash on hand (65th percentile of 2,490 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin declined from 12.1% in FY20 to -2.9% in FY24, though it rose 0.6 points in the most recent year.

Operating margin · FY24
-2.9%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals35th pctl of 2,563 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
60d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals65th pctl of 2,490 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$131.9M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals28th pctl of 2,608 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
-2.2%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals21st pctl of 2,563 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at UCHICAGO MEDICINE ADVENTHEALTH GLENOAKS is about $1.3M per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).

Where UCHICAGO MEDICINE ADVENTHEALTH sits among Urban PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 2,563 of 2,643 filed

Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY24 median is +2.0%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +2.0%UCHICAGO MEDICINE -2.9%-20%0%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +2.0%UCHICAGO MEDICINE -2.9%
One urban pps hospitalUCHICAGO MEDICINEUrban PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-2.9% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-2.2% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
60d (FY24)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
2.66× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
78% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
41d (FY24)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue101,550106,353108,920
Other operating revenue9,80515,52823,017
Total operating revenue111,355121,881131,936
Total operating expenses116,042126,106135,747
Operating income(4,687)(4,225)(3,811)
Operating margin %-4.2%-3.5%-2.9%
Investment income(854)426494
Other non-operating, net3,5982,574388
Net income(1,943)(1,225)(2,929)
Net income %-1.7%-1.0%-2.2%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states. FY22 · Net patient A/R: 8,686K Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = 8685.5K (gross HOSP10_2022_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 3349.6K + L00600 2746.4K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)FY22 · Days cash on hand: -38 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 124-bed hospital running at 44% occupancy, where 58% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
44.1%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
54.87
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
124
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
2,848
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
7 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$6,779
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$47,664
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
58.3%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
581.40
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
16.7%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$22.3M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0
Better than the National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15.2%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
1.08
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
0.851725
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
+12.1%+1.5%-4.2%-3.5%-2.9%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
16 days25 days-38 days32 days60 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this hospital serves

DU PAGE County, IL · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$110.5K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
6.4%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
5.3%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
16.8%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
13.5%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 3.8% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 10.3% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Du Page County

Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$135.7M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$62.9M
$52.8M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$312.2M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
0.1%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation

-2.9% operating margin — 35th percentile of 2,563 peers (FY24 pool).

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

4.9 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $6.5M less operating income than the median rate.

(-2.9% facility vs 2.0% peer median) = 4.9 points below the median × $131.9M revenue ≈ $6.5M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 2,563.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 2,563 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Portfolio Performance Review

Every facility in your portfolio, benchmarked and triaged. Requires only a CCN roster.

From $7,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Request: scoped and quoted before any invoice. No payment is collected on this site.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc