A hospital in Boynton Beach, FL. It reported $5.3M of operating revenue. It held 0 days of cash on hand (54th percentile of 422 Psychiatric hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Only a single comparable reporting year is available, so trend context is limited.
Operating margin
Astrelis calculation unavailable
Days cash on hand · FY24
0d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▬ 0 days vs FY23
vs Psychiatric hospitals54th pctl of 422 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$5.3M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ $0.5M vs FY23
vs Psychiatric hospitals9th pctl of 509 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation unavailable
One point of operating margin at NEUROBEHAVIORAL HOSPITAL OF THE PALM BEACHES-SOUTH is about $53K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
291d (FY24) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
4,452
5,338
Other operating revenue
361
—
Total operating revenue
4,813
5,338
Total operating expenses
11,586
11,979
Operating income
(6,773)
(6,641)
Net income
(6,773)
(6,641)
2 of 3 years available for this statement.
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY23–FY24 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone
Display states.FY24 · Operating and total margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -6,641K · Net patient revenue 5,338KFY23 · Operating and total margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -7,135K · Net patient revenue 4,452K
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 71-bed psychiatric hospital running at 29% occupancy, where the average stay runs 9.6 days, and operating cost runs $1,613 per patient day.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
28.6%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
20.35
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
71
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
773
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
10 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$1,613
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$15,497
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
0.1%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
How the care measures up
No public quality measures are reported for this facility in the current Care Compare refresh.
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 2 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
PALM BEACH County, FL · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$81.1K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
11.1%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
13.2%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
24.6%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
19.4%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 4.7% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 11.3% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Palm Beach County
Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$12.0M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$27.6M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a valid same-year peer pool was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 10 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.