A hospital in Boynton Beach, FL. It ran an operating loss of 9.5% in FY25 on $475.1M of operating revenue. It held 6 days of cash on hand (40th percentile of 1,446 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). Operating margin improved from -14.6% in FY20 to -9.5% in FY25.
Operating margin · FY25
-9.5%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 10.2 pts vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals22nd pctl of 1,475 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
6d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 1 days vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals40th pctl of 1,446 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$475.1M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ $76.2M vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals68th pctl of 1,503 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
-4.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 2.2 pts vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals17th pctl of 1,476 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at BETHESDA HOSPITAL EAST is about $4.8M per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).
Where BETHESDA HOSPITAL EAST sits among Urban PPS hospitals
Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 1,475 of 2,643 filed
Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY25 median is +1.3%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One urban pps hospitalBETHESDA HOSPITALUrban PPS hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY23
FY24
FY25
Patient revenue
344,830
397,272
473,430
Other operating revenue
1,627
1,584
1,666
Total operating revenue
346,457
398,857
475,095
Total operating expenses
463,724
477,600
520,316
Operating income
(117,267)
(78,743)
(45,221)
Operating margin %
-33.8%
-19.7%
-9.5%
Grants & contributions
1,936
442
696
Investment income
87
153
578
Other non-operating, net
7,177
47,151
20,444
Net income
(108,067)
(30,997)
(23,503)
Net income %
-29.9%
-6.9%
-4.7%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY25 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 277-bed hospital running at 58% occupancy, where 40% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
57.5%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
159.78
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
277
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
18,583
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
3 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$8,946
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$28,000
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
39.8%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
2,043
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
20.7%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$70.1M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0.292
Better than the National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15.9%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
1.02
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
1.052847
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 6 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
PALM BEACH County, FL · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$81.1K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
11.1%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
13.2%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
24.6%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
19.4%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 4.7% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 11.3% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Palm Beach County
Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$520.3M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$217.3M
$182.6M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$1.20B
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
0.3%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY25Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY25 pool · n = 1,475.
Performance Benchmark Report: FY25 peer pool · n = 1,475 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.