CCN 061319Lake CountyGovernment - Hospital District or AuthorityRural (USDA RUCC)8 bedsLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read
A hospital in Leadville, CO. It ran an operating loss of 29.1% in FY24 on $17.2M of operating revenue. It held 38 days of cash on hand (32nd percentile of 1,325 Critical Access Hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin declined from -13.0% in FY20 to -29.1% in FY24, though it rose 49.1 points in the most recent year. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 13.7%.
Operating margin · FY24
-29.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 49.1 pts vs FY23
vs Critical Access Hospitals7th pctl of 1,340 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
38d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 25 days vs FY23
vs Critical Access Hospitals32nd pctl of 1,325 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$17.2M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ $4.2M vs FY23
vs Critical Access Hospitals25th pctl of 1,356 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
+13.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 31.6 pts vs FY23
vs Critical Access Hospitals80th pctl of 1,341 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at ST VINCENT GENERAL HOSPITAL DISTRICT is about $172K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).
Where ST VINCENT GENERAL sits among Critical Access Hospitals
Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 1,340 of 1,399 filed
Each point is one Critical Access Hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Critical Access Hospital FY24 median is -1.8%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One critical access hospitalST VINCENTCritical Access Hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Medicare inpatient contribution margin
+51.3% (FY24)
91st percentile of 476 CAHs (FY24 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
Medicare outpatient contribution margin
+46.4% (FY24)
20th percentile of 476 CAHs (FY24 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
$ in thousands
Line item
FY22
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
13,147
12,812
17,033
Other operating revenue
835
195
193
Total operating revenue
13,982
13,007
17,226
Total operating expenses
25,626
23,175
22,232
Operating income
(11,644)
(10,168)
(5,006)
Operating margin %
-83.3%
-78.2%
-29.1%
Grants & contributions
3,975
5,823
3,488
Investment income
—
0
7
Other non-operating, net
2,132
820
5,031
Net income
(5,537)
(3,525)
3,520
Net income %
-27.6%
-17.9%
+13.7%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 8-bed hospital running at 5% occupancy, where swing beds are 82% of the inpatient business, and 86% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
5.5%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
0.44
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
8
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
65
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
2 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$138,089
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$342,035
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
1.97
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
81.7%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
85.6%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$3.8M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
14.9%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results are not available for this reporting period.
Pricing
Pilot · FY24
Commercial rates vs Medicare
195%
Medicare baseline100%
Commercial negotiated rates195%
Commercial negotiated rates as a percent of Medicare rates, outpatient basket. Chart bound 300%; values beyond it are clipped at the bar edge and shown at their actual figure.
Hospital price files + Medicare rates
Directional indicator from public price files. Facility-specific rate positioning is the Commercial Pricing Study →
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
LAKE County, CO · nonmetro, rural, remote
Median household income
$93.7K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
7.2%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
13.3%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
13.2%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
14.9%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 6.9% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 17.9% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Lake County
Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$22.2M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$51.1M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is a critical access hospital, the NCRHW study population. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Medicare inpatient contribution marginFY24Astrelis calculation from reported HCRIS inputs
+51.3% — 91th percentile of 476 matched CAH peers (FY24).
The Board Briefing
Operating margin improved 49.1 points vs FY23 — the briefing traces why, line by line.
CAH Performance Benchmark: FY24 peer pool · n = 1,340 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Basis: 100 services in the basket · 11 classified commercial payers (73% of commercial volume classified) · pricing files captured 2026-07-19 · numerator: negotiated commercial allowed amounts (classified payers) · denominator: Medicare OPPS-equivalent for the same services · weighting: volume-weighted line-level outpatient service basket (CY2026 OPPS equivalent) (weight coverage 100%).
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.