Astrelis
Skilled nursing facility · Mountain Top, PA

SMITH HEALTH CARE LTD.

CCN 395716LUZERNE CountyLatest FY 2024
Historical record. CMS lists this CCN as terminated (voluntary - merger/closure). No successor CCN is recorded. The financials below are the historical results reported under this number and are excluded from current peer comparisons and state counts.
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A skilled nursing facility in Mountain Top, PA. It ran an operating loss of 7.3% in FY24 on $5.2M of operating revenue. It held 33 days of cash on hand (75th percentile of 13,196 SNFs on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin improved from -20.8% in FY21 to -7.3% in FY24.

Days cash on hand · FY24
33d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
18 days vs FY23
vs SNFs75th pctl of 13,196 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$5.2M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$0.5M vs FY23
vs SNFs15th pctl of 13,566 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Operating margin · FY24
-7.3%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
6.5 pts vs FY23
vs SNFs30th pctl of 13,565 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
-6.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
5.1 pts vs FY23
vs SNFs21st pctl of 13,530 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values

Where SMITH HEALTH CARE sits among SNFs

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 13,565 of 13,649 filed

Each point is one SNF in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The SNF FY24 median is -0.7%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%SNF median -0.7%SMITH HEALTH -7.3%-20%0%+20%SNF median -0.7%SMITH HEALTH -7.3%
One snfSMITH HEALTHSNF median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this skilled nursing facility is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-7.3% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-6.1% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
33d (FY24)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
1.36× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
1% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
38d (FY24)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue4,1104,7265,235
Total operating revenue4,1104,7265,235
Total operating expenses4,9565,3765,616
Operating income(846)(649)(381)
Operating margin %-20.6%-13.7%-7.3%
Other non-operating, net77010860
Net income(76)(541)(321)
Net income %-1.6%-11.2%-6.1%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 (SNF) · $ thousands · FY21–FY24 · operating revenue reflects net patient revenue (the SNF form carries no other-operating split) · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in other income

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this skilled nursing facility type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Occupancy
63.2%
Astrelis calculation2024
HCRIS WS S-1 (SNF cost report)
Medicare day share
5.7%
Astrelis calculation2024
HCRIS WS S-1 (SNF cost report)
Medicaid day share
16.6%
Astrelis calculation2024
HCRIS WS S-1 (SNF cost report)
Other payer day share
77.7%
Astrelis calculation2024
HCRIS WS S-1 (SNF cost report)

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 4 reporting years
Operating margin
-20.8%-20.6%-13.7%-7.3%FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
79 days65 days51 days33 daysFY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this skilled nursing facility serves

LUZERNE County, PA
Median household income
$62.3K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
15.4%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
6.3%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
19.9%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
Not available
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 12.7% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 27.3% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation

-7.3% operating margin — 30th percentile of 13,565 peers (FY24 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin improved 6.5 points vs FY23 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 13,565.

Report coverage: Historical Facility Benchmark. 8 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. This CCN is terminated. The report benchmarks the record's final filed years against their own contemporaneous peer pools and says so on every exhibit; no current-year comparison is implied. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

SNF Performance Benchmark

Your facility against its matched peer cohort, every arithmetic benchmark difference dollarized against the cohort median.

$2,500delivered within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc