Astrelis
Skilled nursing facility · Laurel, NE

HILLCREST CARE CENTER

CCN 285178CEDAR CountyLatest FY 2024
Historical record. CMS lists this CCN as terminated (voluntary - merger/closure). No successor CCN is recorded. The financials below are the historical results reported under this number and are excluded from current peer comparisons and state counts.
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A skilled nursing facility in Laurel, NE. It ran an operating loss of 40.4% in FY24 on $2.2M of operating revenue. It held 11 days of cash on hand (55th percentile of 13,196 SNFs on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin declined from -12.9% in FY21 to -40.4% in FY24.

Days cash on hand · FY24
11d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
4 days vs FY23
vs SNFs55th pctl of 13,196 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$2.2M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$0.2M vs FY23
vs SNFs1st pctl of 13,566 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Operating margin · FY24
-40.4%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
25.0 pts vs FY23
vs SNFs5th pctl of 13,565 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
-31.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
25.0 pts vs FY23
vs SNFs2nd pctl of 13,530 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values

Where HILLCREST CARE CENTER sits among SNFs

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 13,565 of 13,649 filed

Each point is one SNF in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The SNF FY24 median is -0.7%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%SNF median -0.7%HILLCREST CARE -40.4%-20%0%+20%SNF median -0.7%HILLCREST CARE -40.4%
One snfHILLCREST CARESNF median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this skilled nursing facility is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-40.4% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-31.1% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
11d (FY24)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
1.12× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
-11% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
22d (FY24)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue2,3312,4382,233
Total operating revenue2,3312,4382,233
Total operating expenses2,8002,8133,134
Operating income(469)(375)(901)
Operating margin %-20.1%-15.4%-40.4%
Other non-operating, net341212158
Net income(128)(163)(743)
Net income %-4.8%-6.1%-31.1%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 (SNF) · $ thousands · FY21–FY24 · operating revenue reflects net patient revenue (the SNF form carries no other-operating split) · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in other income

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this skilled nursing facility type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Occupancy
53.6%
Astrelis calculation2024
HCRIS WS S-1 (SNF cost report)
Medicare day share
5.3%
Astrelis calculation2024
HCRIS WS S-1 (SNF cost report)
Medicaid day share
49.8%
Astrelis calculation2024
HCRIS WS S-1 (SNF cost report)
Other payer day share
45.0%
Astrelis calculation2024
HCRIS WS S-1 (SNF cost report)

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 4 reporting years
Operating margin
-12.9%-20.1%-15.4%-40.4%FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
86 days8 days15 days11 daysFY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this skilled nursing facility serves

CEDAR County, NE
Median household income
$74.0K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
6.2%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
6.6%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
21.9%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
14.0%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 7.4% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 18.3% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation

-40.4% operating margin — 5th percentile of 13,565 peers (FY24 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 25.0 points vs FY23 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 13,565.

Report coverage: Historical Facility Benchmark. 8 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. This CCN is terminated. The report benchmarks the record's final filed years against their own contemporaneous peer pools and says so on every exhibit; no current-year comparison is implied. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

SNF Performance Benchmark

Your facility against its matched peer cohort, every arithmetic benchmark difference dollarized against the cohort median.

$2,500delivered within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc