Astrelis
Skilled nursing facility · New Castle, IN

HICKORY CREEK AT NEW CASTLE

CCN 155459Henry CountyGovernment - CountyLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A skilled nursing facility in New Castle, IN. It ran an operating surplus of 1.2% in FY25 on $4.1M of operating revenue. It held 8 days of cash on hand (51st percentile of 12,522 SNFs on liquidity, FY25 pool). Operating margin declined from 4.7% in FY20 to 1.2% in FY25, though it rose 2.0 points in the most recent year. On care, it carries a 3-star CMS quality rating. On the filed record it is roughly breaking even with mid-range measured quality. Source-reported context, not a recommendation.

Overall Five-Star
3
Reported value2025
Source: CMS Care Compare
Total nursing HPRD
3.87
Reported value2025
Source: CMS PBJ staffing
Operating margin · FY25
+1.2%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs SNFs52nd pctl of 12,880 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
8d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs SNFs51st pctl of 12,522 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values

Where HICKORY CREEK AT sits among SNFs

Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 12,880 of 13,649 filed

Each point is one SNF in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The SNF FY25 median is +0.6%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%SNF median +0.6%HICKORY CREEK +1.2%-20%0%+20%SNF median +0.6%HICKORY CREEK +1.2%
One snfHICKORY CREEKSNF median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this skilled nursing facility is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
+1.2% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+1.5% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
8d (FY25)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
1.92× (FY25)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
70% (FY25)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
29d (FY25)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue3,4523,7514,104
Total operating revenue3,4523,7514,104
Total operating expenses3,3423,7804,055
Operating income110(29)50
Operating margin %+3.2%-0.8%+1.2%
Other non-operating, net121911
Net income122(10)61
Net income %+3.5%-0.3%+1.5%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 (SNF) · $ thousands · FY20–FY25 · operating revenue reflects net patient revenue (the SNF form carries no other-operating split) · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in other income

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this skilled nursing facility type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Overall Five-Star
3
Reported value2025
CMS Care Compare
Health inspection star
3
Reported value2025
CMS Care Compare
Quality measure star
4
Reported value2025
CMS Care Compare
Staffing star
2
Reported value2025
CMS Care Compare
Total nursing HPRD
3.87
Reported value2025
CMS PBJ staffing
RN HPRD
0.70
Reported value2025
CMS PBJ staffing
Total nurse turnover
69.7%
Reported value2025
CMS PBJ staffing
Occupancy
83.7%
Astrelis calculation2025
HCRIS WS S-1 (SNF cost report)
Medicare day share
5.1%
Astrelis calculation2025
HCRIS WS S-1 (SNF cost report)
Medicaid day share
92.7%
Astrelis calculation2025
HCRIS WS S-1 (SNF cost report)
Other payer day share
2.2%
Astrelis calculation2025
HCRIS WS S-1 (SNF cost report)

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 6 reporting years
Operating margin
+4.7%+9.5%+2.5%+3.2%-0.8%+1.2%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
32 days422 days465 days4 days3 days8 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this skilled nursing facility serves

Henry County, IN · nonmetro, urban 5–20K, metro-adjacent
Median household income
$60.1K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
13.0%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
6.7%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
19.2%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
22.1%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 16.2% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 32.0% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY25Astrelis calculation

1.2% operating margin — 52th percentile of 12,880 peers (FY25 pool).

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a benchmark input was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY25 pool · n = 12,880.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

SNF Performance Benchmark

Your facility against its matched peer cohort, every arithmetic benchmark difference dollarized against the cohort median.

$2,500delivered within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc