Astrelis
Hospice · La Mesa, CA

ANC CORPORATION

CCN 921671San Diego CountyLatest FY 2023
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospice in La Mesa, CA. It ran an operating loss of 28.4% in FY23 on $1.6M of operating revenue. It held 5 days of cash on hand (21st percentile of 2,916 hospices on liquidity, FY23 pool). 4 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited. It carries an average daily census of 1.

Average daily census
1
Reported value2023
Source: CMS Hospice
Hospice Care Index
9
Reported value2023
Source: CMS Hospice Quality
Operating margin · FY23
-28.4%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
25.1 pts vs FY22
vs hospices24th pctl of 3,634 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total days of care
8,288 days
Reported value2023
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984

Where ANC CORPORATION sits among hospices

Operating margin · FY23 pool · n = 3,634 of 3,933 filed

Each point is one hospice in the national FY23 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The hospice FY23 median is -3.1%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%hospice median -3.1%ANC CORPORATION -28.4%-20%0%+20%hospice median -3.1%ANC CORPORATION -28.4%
One hospiceANC CORPORATIONhospice median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-28.4% (FY23)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-28.1% (FY23)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
5d (FY23)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY21FY22FY23
Patient revenue3,4403,6021,550
Total operating revenue3,4403,6021,550
Total operating expenses3,5623,7181,990
Operating income(122)(116)(440)
Operating margin %-3.5%-3.2%-28.4%
Other non-operating, net60104
Net income479(116)(436)
Net income %+11.9%-3.2%-28.1%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY23 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Hospice Care Index
9
Reported value2023
CMS Hospice Quality
Average daily census
1
Reported value2023
CMS Hospice
Routine home care mix
99.9%
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
0.1%
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.0%
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
8,288 days
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2023
HCRIS CMS-1984

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 4 reporting years
Operating margin
-25.8%-3.5%-3.2%-28.4%FY20FY21FY22FY23
Days cash on hand
20 days9 days5 days5 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23

The county this hospice serves

San Diego County, CA · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$102.3K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
10.4%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
6.8%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
15.0%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
18.7%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 6.8% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 15.4% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY23Astrelis calculation

-28.4% operating margin — 24th percentile of 3,634 peers (FY23 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 25.1 points vs FY22 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a benchmark input was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY23 pool · n = 3,634.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 11 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Hospice Performance Benchmark

Per-patient-day economics and care-level mix against matched peers. Directional; acuity limits stated.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc