Astrelis
Hospice · Upland, CA

KENNEDY HOSPICE

CCN 751569San Bernardino CountyLatest FY 2021
Historical record. CMS lists this CCN as terminated (voluntary - merger/closure). No successor CCN is recorded. The financials below are the historical results reported under this number and are excluded from current peer comparisons and state counts.
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
Financial anchor year: FY21. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY21. Balance-sheet measures (current ratio, equity financing, days in A/R) use FY20, the latest filing whose balance sheet reconciled as filed. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read

A hospice in Upland, CA. It ran an operating loss of 9.8% in FY21 on $1.1M of operating revenue. It held 21 days of cash on hand (36th percentile of 2,649 hospices on liquidity, FY21 pool). Operating margin improved from -14.6% in FY20 to -9.8% in FY21.

Days cash on hand · FY21
21d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
39 days vs FY20
vs hospices36th pctl of 2,649 (FY21 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY21
$1.1M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$0.3M vs FY20
vs hospices20th pctl of 3,263 (FY21 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Operating margin · FY21
-9.8%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
4.7 pts vs FY20
vs hospices38th pctl of 3,261 (FY21 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total days of care
8,133 days
Reported value2021
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984

Where KENNEDY HOSPICE sits among hospices

Operating margin · FY21 pool · n = 3,261 of 3,933 filed

Each point is one hospice in the national FY21 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The hospice FY21 median is -0.8%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%hospice median -0.8%KENNEDY HOSPICE -9.8%-20%0%+20%hospice median -0.8%KENNEDY HOSPICE -9.8%
One hospiceKENNEDY HOSPICEhospice median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-9.8% (FY21)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-8.3% (FY21)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
21d (FY21)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
12.92× (FY20)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
82% (FY20)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
40d (FY20)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY20FY21
Patient revenue7511,051
Total operating revenue7511,051
Total operating expenses8601,155
Operating income(109)(103)
Operating margin %-14.6%-9.8%
Other non-operating, net015
Net income(109)(88)
Net income %-14.6%-8.3%
2 of 3 years available for this statement.
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY21 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Routine home care mix
100.0%
Reported value2021
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
8,133 days
Reported value2021
HCRIS CMS-1984
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2021
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
0.0%
Reported value2021
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.0%
Reported value2021
HCRIS CMS-1984

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 2 reporting years
Operating margin
-14.6%-9.8%FY20FY21
Days cash on hand
60 days21 daysFY20FY21

The county this hospice serves

San Bernardino County, CA
Median household income
$82.2K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
13.6%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
8.5%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
12.3%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
25.6%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 10.3% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 22.7% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY21Astrelis calculation

-9.8% operating margin — 38th percentile of 3,261 peers (FY21 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin improved 4.7 points vs FY20 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY21 pool · n = 3,261.

Report coverage: Historical Facility Benchmark. 9 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. This CCN is terminated. The report benchmarks the record's final filed years against their own contemporaneous peer pools and says so on every exhibit; no current-year comparison is implied. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Hospice Performance Benchmark

Per-patient-day economics and care-level mix against matched peers. Directional; acuity limits stated.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc