A hospice in San Ramon, CA. It ran an operating loss of 38.0% in FY22 on $3.1M of operating revenue. It held 38 days of cash on hand (53rd percentile of 2,781 hospices on liquidity, FY22 pool). Operating margin declined from -25.4% in FY20 to -38.0% in FY22, though it rose 25.0 points in the most recent year.
Days cash on hand · FY22
38d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 3 days vs FY21
vs hospices53rd pctl of 2,781 (FY22 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Hospice Care Index
9
Reported value2022
Source: CMS Hospice Quality
Operating margin · FY22
-38.0%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 25.0 pts vs FY21
vs hospices19th pctl of 3,459 (FY22 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total days of care
17,351 days
Reported value2022
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984
Where GRACE HOSPICE AND sits among hospices
Operating margin · FY22 pool · n = 3,459 of 3,933 filed
Each point is one hospice in the national FY22 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The hospice FY22 median is -3.9%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One hospiceGRACE HOSPICEhospice median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Operating margin
-38.0% (FY22)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-14.3% (FY22)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
38d (FY22)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY20
FY21
FY22
Patient revenue
2,115
2,061
3,148
Total operating revenue
2,115
2,061
3,148
Total operating expenses
2,652
3,360
4,345
Operating income
(537)
(1,299)
(1,197)
Operating margin %
-25.4%
-63.0%
-38.0%
Other non-operating, net
497
461
654
Net income
(40)
(838)
(543)
Net income %
-1.5%
-33.2%
-14.3%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY22 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Hospice Care Index
9
Reported value2022
CMS Hospice Quality
Routine home care mix
99.8%
Reported value2022
HCRIS CMS-1984
Continuous home care mix
0.1%
Reported value2022
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
0.1%
Reported value2022
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.0%
Reported value2022
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
17,351 days
Reported value2022
HCRIS CMS-1984
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 3 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospice serves
Contra Costa County, CA · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$125.7K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
8.3%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
4.8%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
16.7%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
17.6%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 5.4% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 12.0% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY22Astrelis calculation
A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a benchmark input was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY22 pool · n = 3,459.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 10 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.