Astrelis
Hospice · N Hollywood, CA

HEALTH FIRST HOSPICE, INC

CCN 551784Los Angeles CountyLatest FY 2022
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospice in N Hollywood, CA. It ran an operating surplus of 5.0% in FY22 on $2.7M of operating revenue. It held 1 day of cash on hand (11th percentile of 2,781 hospices on liquidity, FY22 pool). Operating margin improved from -2.1% in FY20 to 5.0% in FY22.

Days cash on hand · FY22
1d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
11 days vs FY21
vs hospices11th pctl of 2,781 (FY22 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Hospice Care Index
9
Reported value2022
Source: CMS Hospice Quality
Operating margin · FY22
+5.0%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
12.6 pts vs FY21
vs hospices64th pctl of 3,459 (FY22 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total days of care
9,279 days
Reported value2022
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984

Where HEALTH FIRST HOSPICE, sits among hospices

Operating margin · FY22 pool · n = 3,459 of 3,933 filed

Each point is one hospice in the national FY22 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The hospice FY22 median is -3.9%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%hospice median -3.9%HEALTH FIRST +5.0%-20%0%+20%hospice median -3.9%HEALTH FIRST +5.0%
One hospiceHEALTH FIRSThospice median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
+5.0% (FY22)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+5.0% (FY22)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
1d (FY22)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY20FY21FY22
Patient revenue3,0412,7052,665
Total operating revenue3,0412,7052,665
Total operating expenses3,1052,9102,531
Operating income(64)(205)133
Operating margin %-2.1%-7.6%+5.0%
Other non-operating, net1612950
Net income9790133
Net income %+3.0%+3.0%+5.0%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY22 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Hospice Care Index
9
Reported value2022
CMS Hospice Quality
Routine home care mix
99.6%
Reported value2022
HCRIS CMS-1984
Continuous home care mix
0.2%
Reported value2022
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.2%
Reported value2022
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
9,279 days
Reported value2022
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
0.0%
Reported value2022
HCRIS CMS-1984

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 3 reporting years
Operating margin
-2.1%-7.6%+5.0%FY20FY21FY22
Days cash on hand
15 days11 days1 dayFY20FY21FY22

The county this hospice serves

Los Angeles County, CA · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$87.8K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
13.6%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
8.7%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
14.7%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
23.6%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 10.3% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 19.2% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY22Astrelis calculation

5.0% operating margin — 64th percentile of 3,459 peers (FY22 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin improved 12.6 points vs FY21 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a benchmark input was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY22 pool · n = 3,459.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 10 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Hospice Performance Benchmark

Per-patient-day economics and care-level mix against matched peers. Directional; acuity limits stated.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc