Astrelis
Hospice · Marlborough, MA

FAITH AND FAMILY HOSPICE

CCN 221607Middlesex CountyLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
Financial anchor year: FY24. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY24. Balance-sheet measures (current ratio, equity financing, days in A/R) use FY22, the latest filing whose balance sheet reconciled as filed. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read

A hospice in Marlborough, MA. It ran an operating loss of 6.4% in FY24 on $5.1M of operating revenue. It held 9 days of cash on hand (28th percentile of 3,076 hospices on liquidity, FY24 pool). 5 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited. It carries an average daily census of 72.

Average daily census
72
Reported value2024
Source: CMS Hospice
Hospice Care Index
9
Reported value2024
Source: CMS Hospice Quality
Operating margin · FY24
-6.4%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs hospices43rd pctl of 3,782 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total days of care
27,656 days
Reported value2024
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984

Where FAITH AND FAMILY sits among hospices

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 3,782 of 3,933 filed

Each point is one hospice in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The hospice FY24 median is -2.0%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%hospice median -2.0%FAITH AND -6.4%-20%0%+20%hospice median -2.0%FAITH AND -6.4%
One hospiceFAITH ANDhospice median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-6.4% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-5.4% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
9d (FY24)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
2.29× (FY22)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
97% (FY22)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
37d (FY22)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue2,8904,3125,107
Total operating revenue2,8904,3125,107
Total operating expenses2,9185,3235,433
Operating income(28)(1,011)(326)
Operating margin %-1.0%-23.4%-6.4%
Other non-operating, net1150049
Net income(17)(511)(277)
Net income %-0.6%-10.6%-5.4%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Hospice Care Index
9
Reported value2024
CMS Hospice Quality
Average daily census
72
Reported value2024
CMS Hospice
Routine home care mix
99.9%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
0.1%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.1%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
27,656 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
CAHPS family caregiver rating (1–5 stars)
4
Reported value2024
CMS Hospice CAHPS

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-35.4%-15.3%-1.0%-23.4%-6.4%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
16 days33 days33 days18 days9 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this hospice serves

Middlesex County, MA · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$126.8K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
7.5%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
2.4%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
16.0%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
13.0%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 4.2% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 9.9% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation

-6.4% operating margin — 43th percentile of 3,782 peers (FY24 pool).

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a benchmark input was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 3,782.

Report coverage: Standard Facility Benchmark. 12 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. Every declared facility measure is available for this record, benchmarked against its same-year peer pools. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Hospice Performance Benchmark

Per-patient-day economics and care-level mix against matched peers. Directional; acuity limits stated.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc