A hospice in Springfield, MA. It ran an operating surplus of 7.9% in FY24 on $6.7M of operating revenue. It held 18,007 days of cash on hand — an Astrelis calculation outside expected range, shown at the chart boundary and ranked in its pool (97th percentile of 3,076 hospices on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin improved from 4.3% in FY20 to 7.9% in FY24. It carries an average daily census of 95.
Average daily census
95
Reported value2024
Source: CMS Hospice
Hospice Care Index
10
Reported value2024
Source: CMS Hospice Quality
Operating margin · FY24
+7.9%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 12.4 pts vs FY23
vs hospices68th pctl of 3,782 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total days of care
35,643 days
Reported value2024
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984
Where BEACON HOSPICE, AN sits among hospices
Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 3,782 of 3,933 filed
Each point is one hospice in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The hospice FY24 median is -2.0%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One hospiceBEACON HOSPICE,hospice median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Operating margin
+7.9% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+24.7% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
18007d (FY24)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
1.23× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
45% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
16185d (FY24) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY22
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
5,630
5,986
6,677
Total operating revenue
5,630
5,986
6,677
Total operating expenses
5,998
6,254
6,147
Operating income
(368)
(268)
531
Operating margin %
-6.5%
-4.5%
+7.9%
Other non-operating, net
1,776
1,831
1,487
Net income
1,408
1,563
2,018
Net income %
+19.0%
+20.0%
+24.7%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding
Display states.FY20 · Days cash on hand: 6,770 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY21 · Days cash on hand: 3,250 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY22 · Days cash on hand: 3,294 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY23 · Days cash on hand: 8,104 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY24 · Days cash on hand: 18,007 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Hospice Care Index
10
Reported value2024
CMS Hospice Quality
Average daily census
95
Reported value2024
CMS Hospice
Routine home care mix
99.7%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
0.2%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.1%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
35,643 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
CAHPS family caregiver rating (1–5 stars)
3
Reported value2024
CMS Hospice CAHPS
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2024
HCRIS CMS-1984
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospice serves
Hampden County, MA · metro, 250K–1M
Median household income
$70.5K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
15.7%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
3.1%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
17.8%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
22.0%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 16.9% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 31.4% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation
A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a benchmark input was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 3,782.
Report coverage: Standard Facility Benchmark. 12 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. Every declared facility measure is available for this record, benchmarked against its same-year peer pools. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world in 35+ board-ready pages, every measure benchmarked against its same-year peers.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.