Providence at Home with Compassus Hospice Care, Sonoma County
CCN 051557Latest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read
A hospice in Petaluma, CA. It ran an operating loss of 123.7% in FY25 on $21.3M of operating revenue. It held -420 days of cash on hand — an Astrelis calculation outside expected range, shown at the chart boundary and ranked in its pool. Operating margin declined from -17.8% in FY21 to -123.7% in FY25. It carries an average daily census of 215.
Average daily census
215
Reported value2025
Source: CMS Hospice
Hospice Care Index
10
Reported value2025
Source: CMS Hospice Quality
Operating margin · FY25
-123.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Total days of care
79,907 days
Reported value2025
Source: HCRIS CMS-1984
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospice is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Operating margin
-123.7% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-12.1% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
-420d (FY25)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY23
FY24
FY25
Patient revenue
21,796
22,305
21,312
Total operating revenue
21,796
22,305
21,312
Total operating expenses
47,080
47,537
47,670
Operating income
(25,284)
(25,232)
(26,358)
Operating margin %
-116.0%
-113.1%
-123.7%
Other non-operating, net
21,190
20,151
21,210
Net income
(4,094)
(5,081)
(5,148)
Net income %
-9.5%
-12.0%
-12.1%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1984 cost report · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · patient-service operating basis; non-patient revenue (contributions, investment) is non-operating · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding
Display states.FY25 · Operating margin: -123.7% — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY24 · Operating margin: -113.1% — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY23 · Operating margin: -116.0% — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (beyond ±100%)FY21 · Days cash on hand: -172 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY22 · Days cash on hand: -150 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY23 · Days cash on hand: -326 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY24 · Days cash on hand: -352 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)FY25 · Days cash on hand: -420 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (outside the 0–1,500-day expected range — a valid filing can produce this; the pool absorbs it)
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
The metrics this hospice type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Hospice Care Index
10
Reported value2025
CMS Hospice Quality
Average daily census
215
Reported value2025
CMS Hospice
Routine home care mix
99.9%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
Continuous home care mix
0.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
General inpatient mix
0.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
Respite mix
0.1%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
Total days of care
79,907 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1984
CAHPS family caregiver rating (1–5 stars)
4
Reported value2025
CMS Hospice CAHPS
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
State context
Petaluma, CA
Located in Petaluma, CA. County-level statistics: linkage not established— this record's county mapping is not verified in the resolved spine, and we never place a facility in a county by guesswork. State-level context appears here once a state aggregate layer lands.
A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a valid same-year peer pool was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.
Report coverage: Standard Facility Benchmark. 12 of 12 facility measures available from public sources. Every declared facility measure is available for this record, benchmarked against its same-year peer pools. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world in 35+ board-ready pages, every measure benchmarked against its same-year peers.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.