CCN 248109St. Louis CountyNON-PROFITLatest FY 2021
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read
A home health agency in Duluth, MN. It ran an operating loss of 12.9% in FY21 on $0.6M of operating revenue. It held 110 days of cash on hand (79th percentile of 5,598 home health agencies on liquidity, FY21 pool). Operating margin declined from 5.5% in FY20 to -12.9% in FY21. On care, it carries a 2.5-star CMS quality rating and 3-star patient experience. Its within-stay preventable hospitalization runs 8.9%. On the filed record it is running at an operating loss with lower measured quality. Source-reported context, not a recommendation.
Quality of patient care star (1–5)
2.5★
Reported value2026
Source: CMS Care Compare
HHCAHPS patient-survey star (1–5)
3★
Reported value2026
Source: CMS HHCAHPS
Operating margin · FY21
-12.9%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 18.5 pts vs FY20
vs home health agencies22nd pctl of 6,432 (FY21 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Within-stay preventable hospitalization
8.9%
Reported value2026
Source: CMS Care Compare
Where BENEDICTINE HOME HEALTH sits among home health agencies
Operating margin · FY21 pool · n = 6,432 of 7,624 filed
Each point is one home health agency in the national FY21 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The home health agency FY21 median is +3.0%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One home health agencyBENEDICTINE HOMEhome health agency median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this home health agency is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Operating margin
-12.9% (FY21)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-12.9% (FY21)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
110d (FY21)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY20
FY21
Patient revenue
671
634
Total operating revenue
671
634
Total operating expenses
634
716
Operating income
37
(82)
Operating margin %
+5.5%
-12.9%
Net income
37
(82)
Net income %
+5.5%
-12.9%
2 of 3 years available for this statement.
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1728 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY21 · operating revenue reflects net patient service revenue · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
The metrics this home health agency type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Quality of patient care star (1–5)
2.5★
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
HHCAHPS patient-survey star (1–5)
3★
Reported value2026
CMS HHCAHPS
Timely initiation of care
99.4%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Improvement in ambulation
70.2%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Improvement in dyspnea
100.0%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Within-stay preventable hospitalization
8.9%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Discharge to community
76.8%
Reported value2024
CMS HHVBP
Rated care 9–10 (% of patients)
79.0%
Reported value2026
CMS HHCAHPS
ZIP codes served
15
Reported value2026
CMS HH PUF
Total visits
5,104
Reported value2021
HCRIS CMS-1728
Total episodes
227
Reported value2021
HCRIS CMS-1728
Visits per episode
22.50
Astrelis calculation2021
Astrelis calculation — total visits ÷ total episodes, both reported above (HCRIS CMS-1728)
Unduplicated patients
235
Reported value2021
HCRIS CMS-1728
Cost per visit ($)
140.19
Reported value2021
HCRIS CMS-1728
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 2 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this home health agency serves
St. Louis County, MN · metro, 250K–1M
Median household income
$69.5K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
13.4%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
3.6%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
20.8%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
16.7%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 12.8% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 26.9% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY21Astrelis calculation
A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a benchmark input was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY21 pool · n = 6,432.
Report coverage: Standard Facility Benchmark. 14 of 14 facility measures available from public sources. Every declared facility measure is available for this record, benchmarked against its same-year peer pools. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world in 35+ board-ready pages, every measure benchmarked against its same-year peers.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.