Astrelis
Home health agency · Brockton, MA

ZEM HEALTH SYSTEMS LLC

CCN 227713Plymouth CountyPROPRIETARYLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A home health agency in Brockton, MA. It ran an operating loss of 2.0% in FY25 on $0.7M of operating revenue. It held 40 days of cash on hand. Operating margin declined from 6.8% in FY20 to -2.0% in FY25. On care, it carries a 2.5-star CMS quality rating. Its within-stay preventable hospitalization runs 18.5%. On the filed record it is running at an operating loss with lower measured quality. Source-reported context, not a recommendation.

Quality of patient care star (1–5)
2.5
Reported value2026
Source: CMS Care Compare
Days cash on hand · FY25
40d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
7 days vs FY24
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Operating margin · FY25
-2.0%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
7.4 pts vs FY24
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Within-stay preventable hospitalization
18.5%
Reported value2026
Source: CMS Care Compare

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this home health agency is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-2.0% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-2.0% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
40d (FY25)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
Not reported in source
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
94% (FY25)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
Not reported in source
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY20FY24FY25
Patient revenue720678670
Total operating revenue720678670
Total operating expenses671641683
Operating income4936(13)
Operating margin %+6.8%+5.4%-2.0%
Net income4936(13)
Net income %+6.8%+5.4%-2.0%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS CMS-1728 cost report · $ thousands · FY20–FY25 · operating revenue reflects net patient service revenue · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding
Display states. FY21 · Filed figures Not reported in source (a cost report exists for this year but none of its mapped statement values were reported)FY22 · Filed figures Not reported in source (a cost report exists for this year but none of its mapped statement values were reported)FY23 · Filed figures Not reported in source (a cost report exists for this year but none of its mapped statement values were reported)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

The metrics this home health agency type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Quality of patient care star (1–5)
2.5
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Timely initiation of care
100.0%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Improvement in ambulation
67.9%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
Within-stay preventable hospitalization
18.5%
Reported value2026
CMS Care Compare
ZIP codes served
33
Reported value2026
CMS HH PUF
Total visits
3,515
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1728
Total episodes
126
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1728
Visits per episode
27.90
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total visits ÷ total episodes, both reported above (HCRIS CMS-1728)
Unduplicated patients
70
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1728
Cost per visit ($)
194.33
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1728
Medicare revenue share
100.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS CMS-1728

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 6 reporting years
Operating margin
+6.8%+5.4%-2.0%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
68 days47 days40 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this home health agency serves

Plymouth County, MA · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$109.7K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
7.1%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
2.5%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
19.2%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
15.9%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 7.6% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 16.6% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin (as filed)FY25Astrelis calculation

-2.0% operating margin in FY25.

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 7.4 points vs FY24 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a valid same-year peer pool was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
Report coverage: Standard Facility Benchmark. 14 of 14 facility measures available from public sources. Every declared facility measure is available for this record, benchmarked against its same-year peer pools. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Home Health Performance Benchmark

Utilization-pattern and cost benchmarks against matched peers. Directional screens; public data cannot fully control for acuity.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc