Astrelis
Critical Access Hospital · Summersville, WV

SUMMERSVILLE REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER

CCN 511322NICHOLAS CountyVoluntary non-profit - PrivateRural (USDA RUCC)19 bedsLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Summersville, WV. It ran an operating loss of 7.2% in FY24 on $72.9M of operating revenue. It held 89 days of cash on hand (48th percentile of 1,325 Critical Access Hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin declined from 3.7% in FY20 to -7.2% in FY24, though it rose 11.2 points in the most recent year. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 5.0%.

Operating margin · FY24
-7.2%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
11.2 pts vs FY23
vs Critical Access Hospitals32nd pctl of 1,340 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
89d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
13 days vs FY23
vs Critical Access Hospitals48th pctl of 1,325 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$72.9M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$14.9M vs FY23
vs Critical Access Hospitals85th pctl of 1,356 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
+5.0%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
11.8 pts vs FY23
vs Critical Access Hospitals50th pctl of 1,341 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at SUMMERSVILLE REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER is about $729K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).

Where SUMMERSVILLE REGIONAL MEDICAL sits among Critical Access Hospitals

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 1,340 of 1,399 filed

Each point is one Critical Access Hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Critical Access Hospital FY24 median is -1.8%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Critical Access Hospital median -1.8%SUMMERSVILLE REGIONAL -7.2%-20%0%+20%Critical Access Hospital median -1.8%SUMMERSVILLE REGIONAL -7.2%
One critical access hospitalSUMMERSVILLE REGIONALCritical Access Hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-7.2% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+5.0% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
89d (FY24)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
1.28× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
37% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
55d (FY24)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Medicare inpatient contribution margin
+28.3% (FY24)
49th percentile of 476 CAHs (FY24 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
Medicare outpatient contribution margin
+52.9% (FY24)
38th percentile of 476 CAHs (FY24 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue60,64357,56272,663
Other operating revenue239415256
Total operating revenue60,88157,97772,919
Total operating expenses60,45968,65178,189
Operating income422(10,675)(5,269)
Operating margin %+0.7%-18.4%-7.2%
Grants & contributions7014
Investment income27112396
Other non-operating, net5,4766,1468,970
Net income5,995(4,403)4,097
Net income %+9.0%-6.9%+5.0%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 19-bed hospital running at 63% occupancy, where 83% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
63.0%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
11.99
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
19
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
1,963
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
2 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$17,859
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$39,831
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
2.06
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
14.7%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
83.3%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$5.0M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0
No Different than National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15.1%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
+3.7%+6.7%+0.7%-18.4%-7.2%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
131 days151 days132 days76 days89 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this hospital serves

NICHOLAS County, WV · nonmetro, rural, metro-adjacent
Median household income
$49.3K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
17.8%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
6.2%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
23.6%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
24.7%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 17.2% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 42.3% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Nicholas County

Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$78.2M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$179.8M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is a critical access hospital, the NCRHW study population. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Medicare inpatient contribution marginFY24Astrelis calculation from reported HCRIS inputs

+28.3% — 49th percentile of 476 matched CAH peers (FY24).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin improved 11.2 points vs FY23 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
CAH Performance Benchmark

5.4 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $3.9M less operating income than the median rate.

(-7.2% facility vs -1.8% peer median) = 5.4 points below the median × $72.9M revenue ≈ $3.9M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve CAH Performance Benchmark →
Commercial Pricing Study

Charge markup ratio 2.65× (gross charges ÷ total operating cost, HCRIS as filed) — the study prices your actual negotiated-rate file against it.

Request Commercial Pricing Study →
How we calculated this

Peer pool matched on: bed-size band · rural status · state (progressively widened to national at a 20-peer floor).

Medicare inpatient contribution margin: FY24 pool · n = 476.

View the formula in the methodology →

CAH Performance Benchmark: FY24 peer pool · n = 1,340 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

CAH Performance Benchmark

Contribution margin by department, Medicare take-back exposure, and capture gaps against matched peers, from your own filed cost report.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.

Commercial Pricing Study

Your negotiated commercial rates against Medicare and against peers, from hospitals' own published price files.

$10,000Scoped after rate-file validation
Rate file unverified · validated before payment
Request: scoped and quoted before any invoice. No payment is collected on this site. We validate your hospital's rate file before taking payment.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc