A hospital in Jackson, TN. It ran an operating loss of 23.0% in FY21 on $5.3M of operating revenue. It held 0 days of cash on hand (44th percentile of 398 Psychiatric hospitals on liquidity, FY21 pool). Operating margin improved from -34.9% in FY20 to -23.0% in FY21.
Operating margin · FY21
-23.0%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 11.9 pts vs FY20
vs Psychiatric hospitals16th pctl of 398 (FY21 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY21
0d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 1 days vs FY20
vs Psychiatric hospitals44th pctl of 398 (FY21 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY21
$5.3M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ $0.7M vs FY20
vs Psychiatric hospitals12th pctl of 470 (FY21 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY21
-17.4%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 14.2 pts vs FY20
vs Psychiatric hospitals9th pctl of 405 (FY21 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at PERIMETER BEHAVIORAL CENTER OF JACKSON is about $53K per year (1% of FY21 total operating revenue).
Where PERIMETER BEHAVIORAL CENTER sits among Psychiatric hospitals
Operating margin · FY21 pool · n = 398 of 601 filed
Each point is one Psychiatric hospital in the national FY21 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Psychiatric hospital FY21 median is +5.1%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One psychiatric hospitalPERIMETER BEHAVIORALPsychiatric hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY20
FY21
Patient revenue
4,589
5,315
Other operating revenue
47
—
Total operating revenue
4,636
5,315
Total operating expenses
6,255
6,536
Operating income
(1,619)
(1,222)
Operating margin %
-34.9%
-23.0%
Other non-operating, net
118
253
Net income
(1,501)
(969)
Net income %
-31.6%
-17.4%
2 of 3 years available for this statement.
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY21 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states.FY20 · Days cash on hand: -1 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 40-bed psychiatric hospital running at 57% occupancy, where the average stay runs 14.6 days, and operating cost runs $782 per patient day.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
57.3%
Reported value2021
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
22.96
Reported value2021
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
40
Reported value2021
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
571
Reported value2021
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
15 days
Reported value2021
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$782
Astrelis calculation2021
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$11,447
Astrelis calculation2021
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
How the care measures up
No public quality measures are reported for this facility in the current Care Compare refresh.
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 2 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
MADISON County, TN · metro, under 250K
Median household income
$58.2K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
18.6%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
10.2%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
17.6%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
24.7%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 11.1% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 25.8% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Madison County
Illustrative estimate · FY21 cost report
Direct annual spending
$6.5M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$15.0M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY21Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY21 pool · n = 398.
Performance Benchmark Report: FY21 peer pool · n = 398 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 11 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.