Astrelis
Urban PPS hospital · PA

ST LUKE'S HOSPITAL - ANDERSON CAMPUS

CCN 390326NORTHAMPTON CountyVoluntary non-profit - Private148 bedsLatest FY 2025
Historical record. CMS lists this CCN as terminated (voluntary - merger/closure). Continued as Urban PPS hospital CCN 390049 see the current profile. The financials below are the historical results reported under this number and are excluded from current peer comparisons and state counts.
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Northampton County, PA. It ran an operating surplus of 24.9% in FY25 on $584.9M of operating revenue. It held 99 days of cash on hand (72nd percentile of 1,446 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). Operating margin improved from 21.5% in FY21 to 24.9% in FY25.

Operating margin · FY25
+24.9%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals94th pctl of 1,475 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
99d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals72nd pctl of 1,446 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$584.9M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals75th pctl of 1,503 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
+26.6%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals93rd pctl of 1,476 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at ST LUKE'S HOSPITAL - ANDERSON CAMPUS is about $5.8M per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).

Where ST LUKE'S HOSPITAL sits among Urban PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 1,475 of 2,643 filed

Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY25 median is +1.3%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +1.3%ST LUKE'S +24.9%-20%0%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +1.3%ST LUKE'S +24.9%
One urban pps hospitalST LUKE'SUrban PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
+24.9% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+26.6% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
99d (FY25)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
1.79× (FY25)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
67% (FY25)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
37d (FY25)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue433,002488,720583,923
Other operating revenue757998996
Total operating revenue433,759489,718584,919
Total operating expenses343,959369,777439,404
Operating income89,800119,942145,515
Operating margin %+20.7%+24.5%+24.9%
Grants & contributions196514238
Investment income6,5405,228399
Other non-operating, net1,4652,58510,348
Net income98,001128,269156,500
Net income %+22.1%+25.7%+26.6%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 148-bed hospital running at 87% occupancy, where 57% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
87.4%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
129.66
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
148
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
17,851
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
3 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$9,387
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$24,615
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
57.5%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
1,802
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
28.1%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
How the care measures up
No public quality measures are reported for this facility in the current Care Compare refresh.

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
+21.5%+19.9%+20.7%+24.5%+24.9%FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
2 days2 days0 days185 days99 daysFY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this hospital serves

NORTHAMPTON County, PA
Median household income
$86.7K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
8.8%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
4.2%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
19.9%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
Not available
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Not designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 9.2% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 20.1% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Northampton County

Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$439.4M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$190.2M
$159.8M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$1.01B
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
1.5%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY25Astrelis calculation

24.9% operating margin — 94th percentile of 1,475 peers (FY25 pool).

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY25 pool · n = 1,475.

Report coverage: Historical Facility Benchmark. 14 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. This CCN is terminated. The report benchmarks the record's final filed years against their own contemporaneous peer pools and says so on every exhibit; no current-year comparison is implied. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Portfolio Performance Review

Every facility in your portfolio, benchmarked and triaged. Requires only a CCN roster.

From $7,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Request: scoped and quoted before any invoice. No payment is collected on this site.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc