CCN 261312HARRISON CountyGovernment - Hospital District or Authority15 bedsLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read
A hospital in Bethany, MO. It ran an operating loss of 0.1% in FY25 on $36.0M of operating revenue. It held 115 days of cash on hand (51st percentile of 822 Critical Access Hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). Operating margin improved from -1.1% in FY21 to -0.1% in FY25. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 6.2%.
Operating margin · FY25
-0.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals50th pctl of 824 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
115d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals51st pctl of 822 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$36.0M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals57th pctl of 833 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
+6.2%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals49th pctl of 824 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at HARRISON COUNTY COMMUNITY HOSPITAL is about $360K per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).
Where HARRISON COUNTY COMMUNITY sits among Critical Access Hospitals
Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 824 of 1,399 filed
Each point is one Critical Access Hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Critical Access Hospital FY25 median is -0.2%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One critical access hospitalHARRISON COUNTYCritical Access Hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Medicare inpatient contribution margin
+37.5% (FY24)
Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
Medicare outpatient contribution margin
+58.3% (FY24)
Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
$ in thousands
Line item
FY23
FY24
FY25
Patient revenue
27,642
29,840
32,370
Other operating revenue
3,193
1,218
3,638
Total operating revenue
30,835
31,058
36,008
Total operating expenses
30,292
33,344
36,048
Operating income
543
(2,286)
(40)
Operating margin %
+1.8%
-7.4%
-0.1%
Grants & contributions
690
871
951
Investment income
133
306
400
Other non-operating, net
0
35
1,060
Net income
1,366
(1,074)
2,371
Net income %
+4.3%
-3.3%
+6.2%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 15-bed hospital running at 15% occupancy, where swing beds are 58% of the inpatient business, and 87% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
15.3%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
2.30
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
15
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
246
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
3 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$43,068
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$146,537
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
3.19
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
58.1%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
86.9%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15.5%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results are based on a shorter time period than required.; Results cannot be calculated for this reporting period.
Pricing
Pilot · FY25
Commercial rates vs Medicare
229%
Medicare baseline100%
Commercial negotiated rates229%
Commercial negotiated rates as a percent of Medicare rates, outpatient basket. Chart bound 300%; values beyond it are clipped at the bar edge and shown at their actual figure.
Hospital price files + Medicare rates
Directional indicator from public price files. Facility-specific rate positioning is the Commercial Pricing Study →
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
HARRISON County, MO
Median household income
$53.4K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
16.1%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
7.7%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
22.3%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
25.1%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 16.8% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 32.9% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Harrison County
Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$36.0M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$82.9M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is a critical access hospital, the NCRHW study population. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Medicare inpatient contribution marginFY24Astrelis calculation from reported HCRIS inputs
+37.5% (FY24).
The Board Briefing
What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.
CAH Performance Benchmark: FY25 peer pool · n = 824 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Basis: 100 services in the basket · 12 classified commercial payers (100% of commercial volume classified) · pricing files captured 2026-07-19 · numerator: negotiated commercial allowed amounts (classified payers) · denominator: Medicare OPPS-equivalent for the same services · weighting: volume-weighted line-level outpatient service basket (CY2026 OPPS equivalent) (weight coverage 100%).
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 14 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.