A hospital in Caro, MI. It ran an operating surplus of 2.9% in FY25 on $66.9M of operating revenue. Days cash on hand is an Astrelis calculation unavailable for its latest year (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year). 2 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited.
Operating margin · FY25
+2.9%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Days cash on hand
Astrelis calculation unavailable
all sources
Total operating revenue · FY25
$66.9M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Total margin · incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation unavailable
One point of operating margin at CARO PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL is about $669K per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
0d (FY25) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY23
FY24
FY25
Cash & equivalents
0
0
0
Accounts receivable
0
0
0
Other current assets
0
0
0
Total current assets
0
0
0
Investments
0
0
0
Net property, plant & equipment
12,832
70
60
Other assets
0
0
0
Total assets
12,832
70
60
Current portion of long-term debt
0
0
0
Other current liabilities
0
0
0
Total current liabilities
0
0
0
Long-term debt, net of current portion
0
0
0
Other liabilities
0
0
0
Total liabilities
0
0
0
Total net assets
12,832
70
60
Total liabilities & net assets
12,832
70
60
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G · $ thousands · FY20–FY25
Display states.FY25 · Days cash on hand — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY24 · Operating and total margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -49,765K · Net patient revenue 13,183KFY24 · Days cash on hand — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY23 · Days cash on hand — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY22 · Operating and total margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -50,768K · Net patient revenue 8,097KFY22 · Days cash on hand — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY21 · Operating and total margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -44,709K · Net patient revenue 9,962KFY21 · Days cash on hand — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY20 · Operating and total margin — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -52,118K · Net patient revenue 4,910KFY20 · Days cash on hand — Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 100-bed psychiatric hospital running at 97% occupancy, where the average stay runs 444.4 days, and operating cost runs $1,828 per patient day.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
97.4%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
97.67
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
100
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
80
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
444 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$1,828
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$812,163
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
How the care measures up
No public quality measures are reported for this facility in the current Care Compare refresh.
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 6 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
TUSCOLA County, MI · nonmetro, urban 5–20K, metro-adjacent
Median household income
$62.8K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
12.6%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
4.8%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
21.5%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
21.7%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 15.2% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 33.9% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Tuscola County
Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$65.0M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$149.4M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a valid same-year peer pool was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 9 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.