Astrelis
Rural PPS hospital · Mount Pleasant, MI

MCLAREN CENTRAL MICHIGAN

CCN 230080ISABELLA CountyVoluntary non-profit - PrivateRural (USDA RUCC)41 bedsLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Mount Pleasant, MI. It ran an operating loss of 23.2% in FY25 on $146.3M of operating revenue. It held 87 days of cash on hand (70th percentile of 201 Rural PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). 6 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited.

Operating margin · FY25
-23.2%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
13.8 pts vs FY24
vs Rural PPS hospitals14th pctl of 202 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
87d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
36 days vs FY24
vs Rural PPS hospitals70th pctl of 201 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$146.3M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$24.3M vs FY24
vs Rural PPS hospitals69th pctl of 207 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
-2.6%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
14.8 pts vs FY24
vs Rural PPS hospitals36th pctl of 202 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at MCLAREN CENTRAL MICHIGAN is about $1.5M per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).

Where MCLAREN CENTRAL MICHIGAN sits among Rural PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 202 of 410 filed

Each point is one Rural PPS hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Rural PPS hospital FY25 median is -3.6%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Rural PPS hospital median -3.6%MCLAREN CENTRAL -23.2%-20%0%+20%Rural PPS hospital median -3.6%MCLAREN CENTRAL -23.2%
One rural pps hospitalMCLAREN CENTRALRural PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-23.2% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-2.6% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
87d (FY25)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
0.91× (FY25)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
73% (FY25)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
-2d (FY25) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue115,682120,150143,524
Other operating revenue1,2391,8292,758
Total operating revenue116,921121,979146,283
Total operating expenses163,310167,196180,257
Operating income(46,389)(45,217)(33,975)
Operating margin %-39.7%-37.1%-23.2%
Grants & contributions5,07091,095
Investment income3,6244,2553,421
Other non-operating, net19,55716,10924,809
Net income(18,138)(24,844)(4,650)
Net income %-12.5%-17.5%-2.6%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY25 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states. FY25 · Net patient A/R: -635K Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = -635.3K (gross HOSP10_2025_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 9962.1K + L00600 62207.4K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)FY22 · Days cash on hand: -14 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 41-bed hospital running at 30% occupancy, where 88% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
29.5%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
12.15
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
41
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
1,993
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
2 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$40,764
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$90,445
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
87.7%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
707.40
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
16.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$10.5M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0.55
No Different than National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15.1%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
0.85
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
0.93762
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 6 reporting years
Operating margin
-16.4%-27.7%-25.8%-39.7%-37.1%-23.2%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
155 days8 days-14 days23 days51 days87 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this hospital serves

ISABELLA County, MI · nonmetro, urban 20K+, metro-adjacent
Median household income
$53.8K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
23.2%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
7.6%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
13.7%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
20.1%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 15.5% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 29.4% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Isabella County

Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$180.3M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$93.9M
$78.9M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$414.6M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
2.7%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY25Astrelis calculation

-23.2% operating margin — 14th percentile of 202 peers (FY25 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin improved 13.8 points vs FY24 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

19.6 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $28.7M less operating income than the median rate.

(-23.2% facility vs -3.6% peer median) = 19.6 points below the median × $146.3M revenue ≈ $28.7M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY25 pool · n = 202.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY25 peer pool · n = 202 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Rural PPS Performance Benchmark

Your facility against its matched peer cohort, every arithmetic benchmark difference dollarized against the cohort median.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc