Astrelis
Critical Access Hospital · Elkhart, KS

MORTON COUNTY HOSPITAL

CCN 171386MORTON CountyGovernment - LocalRural (USDA RUCC)25 bedsLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Elkhart, KS. It ran an operating loss of 24.1% in FY24 on $7.8M of operating revenue. It held 41 days of cash on hand (33rd percentile of 1,325 Critical Access Hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). 2 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 15.1%.

Operating margin · FY24
-24.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals10th pctl of 1,340 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
41d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals33rd pctl of 1,325 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$7.8M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals4th pctl of 1,356 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
+15.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals83rd pctl of 1,341 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at MORTON COUNTY HOSPITAL is about $78K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).

Where MORTON COUNTY HOSPITAL sits among Critical Access Hospitals

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 1,340 of 1,399 filed

Each point is one Critical Access Hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Critical Access Hospital FY24 median is -1.8%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Critical Access Hospital median -1.8%MORTON COUNTY -24.1%-20%0%+20%Critical Access Hospital median -1.8%MORTON COUNTY -24.1%
One critical access hospitalMORTON COUNTYCritical Access Hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-24.1% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+15.1% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
41d (FY24)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
4.81× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
72% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
167d (FY24)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Medicare inpatient contribution margin
+22.6% (FY24)
43rd percentile of 44 CAHs (FY24 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
Medicare outpatient contribution margin
+53.6% (FY24)
61st percentile of 44 CAHs (FY24 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24
Patient revenue1,6298,273
Other operating revenue100(502)
Total operating revenue1,7297,771
Total operating expenses2,0109,642
Operating income(280)(1,871)
Operating margin %-16.2%-24.1%
Grants & contributions581
Investment income5
Other non-operating, net53,582
Net income3111,711
Net income %+13.4%+15.1%
2 of 3 years available for this statement.
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY23–FY24

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 25-bed hospital running at 3% occupancy, where swing beds are 71% of the inpatient business, and 67% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
3.4%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
0.86
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
25
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
76
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
4 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$30,805
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$126,870
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
2.06
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
70.6%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
66.7%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$0.7M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results are not available for this reporting period.

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 2 reporting years
Operating margin
-16.2%-24.1%FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
16 days41 daysFY23FY24

The county this hospital serves

MORTON County, KS · nonmetro, rural, remote
Median household income
$65.6K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
14.8%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
11.2%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
20.3%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
21.3%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 10.7% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 23.1% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Morton County

Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$9.6M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$22.2M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is a critical access hospital, the NCRHW study population. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Medicare inpatient contribution marginFY24Astrelis calculation from reported HCRIS inputs

+22.6% — 43th percentile of 44 matched CAH peers (FY24).

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
CAH Performance Benchmark

22.3 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $1.7M less operating income than the median rate.

(-24.1% facility vs -1.8% peer median) = 22.3 points below the median × $7.8M revenue ≈ $1.7M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve CAH Performance Benchmark →
Commercial Pricing Study

Charge markup ratio 1.85× (gross charges ÷ total operating cost, HCRIS as filed) — the study prices your actual negotiated-rate file against it.

Request Commercial Pricing Study →
How we calculated this

Peer pool matched on: bed-size band · rural status · state (progressively widened to national at a 20-peer floor).

Medicare inpatient contribution margin: FY24 pool · n = 44.

View the formula in the methodology →

CAH Performance Benchmark: FY24 peer pool · n = 1,340 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

CAH Performance Benchmark

Contribution margin by department, Medicare take-back exposure, and capture gaps against matched peers, from your own filed cost report.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.

Commercial Pricing Study

Your negotiated commercial rates against Medicare and against peers, from hospitals' own published price files.

$10,000Scoped after rate-file validation
Rate file unverified · validated before payment
Request: scoped and quoted before any invoice. No payment is collected on this site. We validate your hospital's rate file before taking payment.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc