Astrelis
Urban PPS hospital · Los Angeles, CA

HOLLYWOOD PRESBYTERIAN MEDICAL CENTER

CCN 050063LOS ANGELES CountyProprietaryUrban (USDA RUCC)266 bedsLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Los Angeles, CA. It ran an operating loss of 3.7% in FY24 on $505.1M of operating revenue. It held 12 days of cash on hand (46th percentile of 2,490 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin declined from -1.8% in FY20 to -3.7% in FY24.

Operating margin · FY24
-3.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
2.5 pts vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals32nd pctl of 2,563 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
12d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
3 days vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals46th pctl of 2,490 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$505.1M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$25.3M vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals72nd pctl of 2,608 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
-2.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
2.6 pts vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals20th pctl of 2,563 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at HOLLYWOOD PRESBYTERIAN MEDICAL CENTER is about $5.1M per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).

Where HOLLYWOOD PRESBYTERIAN MEDICAL sits among Urban PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 2,563 of 2,643 filed

Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY24 median is +2.0%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +2.0%HOLLYWOOD PRESBYTERIAN -3.7%-20%0%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +2.0%HOLLYWOOD PRESBYTERIAN -3.7%
One urban pps hospitalHOLLYWOOD PRESBYTERIANUrban PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-3.7% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-2.7% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
12d (FY24)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
1.34× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
34% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
-51d (FY24) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue446,328475,306500,473
Other operating revenue5,7384,4444,622
Total operating revenue452,066479,749505,095
Total operating expenses461,334485,359523,602
Operating income(9,268)(5,610)(18,506)
Operating margin %-2.1%-1.2%-3.7%
Other non-operating, net4,4875,0614,881
Net income(4,781)(549)(13,625)
Net income %-1.0%-0.1%-2.7%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states. FY24 · Net patient A/R: -69,981K Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = -69981.4K (gross HOSP10_2024_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 115992.9K + L00600 430238.5K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 266-bed hospital running at 49% occupancy, where 32% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
49.0%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
130.69
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
266
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
12,444
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
4 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$10,977
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$42,077
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
31.8%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
1,245
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
13.7%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$8.1M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0.033
Better than the National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
16.1%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
1.18
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
0.860636
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-1.8%+0.9%-2.1%-1.2%-3.7%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
44 days27 days11 days9 days12 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this hospital serves

LOS ANGELES County, CA · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$87.8K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
13.6%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
8.7%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
14.7%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
23.6%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 10.3% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 19.2% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Los Angeles County

Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$523.6M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$176.3M
$148.1M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$1.20B
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
0.0%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation

-3.7% operating margin — 32th percentile of 2,563 peers (FY24 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 2.5 points vs FY23 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

5.7 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $28.8M less operating income than the median rate.

(-3.7% facility vs 2.0% peer median) = 5.7 points below the median × $505.1M revenue ≈ $28.8M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 2,563.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 2,563 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Portfolio Performance Review

Every facility in your portfolio, benchmarked and triaged. Requires only a CCN roster.

From $7,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Request: scoped and quoted before any invoice. No payment is collected on this site.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc