A hospital in Tempe, AZ. It ran an operating surplus of 1.3% in FY24 on $47.1M of operating revenue. It held 4 days of cash on hand (63rd percentile of 422 Psychiatric hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin declined from 3.7% in FY20 to 1.3% in FY24, though it rose 4.6 points in the most recent year.
Operating margin · FY24
+1.3%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Psychiatric hospitals41st pctl of 437 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
4d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Psychiatric hospitals63rd pctl of 422 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$47.1M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Psychiatric hospitals82nd pctl of 509 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
+1.4%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Psychiatric hospitals33rd pctl of 434 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at AURORA BEHAVIORAL HEALTHCARE-TEMPE is about $471K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).
Where AURORA BEHAVIORAL HEALTHCARE-TEMPE sits among Psychiatric hospitals
Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 437 of 601 filed
Each point is one Psychiatric hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Psychiatric hospital FY24 median is +4.8%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One psychiatric hospitalAURORA BEHAVIORALPsychiatric hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
245d (FY24) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY22
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
37,806
38,868
42,739
Other operating revenue
3,217
3,637
4,395
Total operating revenue
41,023
42,506
47,134
Total operating expenses
40,141
43,914
46,524
Operating income
882
(1,408)
610
Operating margin %
+2.2%
-3.3%
+1.3%
Other non-operating, net
36
67
72
Net income
918
(1,341)
682
Net income %
+2.2%
-3.1%
+1.4%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states.FY23 · Days cash on hand: -1 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY22 · Days cash on hand: -6 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 138-bed psychiatric hospital running at 80% occupancy, where the average stay runs 9.5 days, and operating cost runs $1,154 per patient day.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
79.8%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
110.46
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
138
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
4,259
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
9 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$1,154
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$10,924
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
5.2%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
How the care measures up
No public quality measures are reported for this facility in the current Care Compare refresh.
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
MARICOPA County, AZ · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$85.5K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
11.3%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
10.7%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
16.0%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
17.5%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 7.2% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 16.8% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Maricopa County
Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$46.5M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$107.0M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 437.
Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 437 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 12 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.