Astrelis
Urban PPS hospital · Bullhead City, AZ

EXCEPTIONAL COMMUNITY HOSPITAL BULLHEAD CITY

CCN 030155Mohave CountyProprietaryUrban (USDA RUCC)8 bedsLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Bullhead City, AZ. It ran an operating loss of 10.3% in FY24 on $10.9M of operating revenue. It held 23 days of cash on hand (53rd percentile of 2,490 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Only a single comparable reporting year is available, so trend context is limited.

Operating margin · FY24
-10.3%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals19th pctl of 2,563 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
23d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals53rd pctl of 2,490 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$10.9M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals1st pctl of 2,608 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
-10.3%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals9th pctl of 2,563 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at EXCEPTIONAL COMMUNITY HOSPITAL BULLHEAD CITY is about $109K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).

Where EXCEPTIONAL COMMUNITY HOSPITAL sits among Urban PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 2,563 of 2,643 filed

Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY24 median is +2.0%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +2.0%EXCEPTIONAL COMMUNITY -10.3%-20%0%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +2.0%EXCEPTIONAL COMMUNITY -10.3%
One urban pps hospitalEXCEPTIONAL COMMUNITYUrban PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-10.3% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-10.3% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
23d (FY24)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
1.13× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
-10% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
136d (FY24)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY24
Patient revenue10,864
Total operating revenue10,864
Total operating expenses11,980
Operating income(1,116)
Operating margin %-10.3%
Net income(1,116)
Net income %-10.3%
1 of 3 years available for this statement.
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY24 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 8-bed hospital running at 22% occupancy, where 92% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
21.7%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
1.74
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
8
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
179
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
3 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$25,275
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$66,929
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
91.7%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
68.50
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
8.9%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
Not reported in source (note 2)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
Not reported in source (note 2)
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
Not reported in source (note 2)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results are based on a shorter time period than required.; Results cannot be calculated for this reporting period.Note 2: The number of cases/patients is too few to report.

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · single reporting year
Operating margin
-10.3%FY24
Days cash on hand
23 daysFY24

The county this hospital serves

Mohave County, AZ
Median household income
$55.8K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
16.8%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
9.7%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
31.9%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
23.0%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 13.2% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 36.2% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Mohave County

Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$12.0M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$6.6M
$5.6M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$27.6M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation

-10.3% operating margin — 19th percentile of 2,563 peers (FY24 pool).

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

12.3 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $1.3M less operating income than the median rate.

(-10.3% facility vs 2.0% peer median) = 12.3 points below the median × $10.9M revenue ≈ $1.3M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 2,563.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 2,563 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 14 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Portfolio Performance Review

Every facility in your portfolio, benchmarked and triaged. Requires only a CCN roster.

From $7,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Request: scoped and quoted before any invoice. No payment is collected on this site.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc