Astrelis
Rural PPS hospital · Olean, NY

OLEAN GENERAL HOSPITAL

CCN 330103CATTARAUGUS CountyProprietaryRural (USDA RUCC)188 bedsLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Olean, NY. It ran an operating loss of 13.8% in FY24 on $199.9M of operating revenue. It held 16 days of cash on hand (42nd percentile of 386 Rural PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin improved from -17.3% in FY20 to -13.8% in FY24.

Operating margin · FY24
-13.8%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
6.9 pts vs FY23
vs Rural PPS hospitals19th pctl of 387 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
16d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
6 days vs FY23
vs Rural PPS hospitals42nd pctl of 386 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$199.9M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$25.7M vs FY23
vs Rural PPS hospitals80th pctl of 393 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
-9.5%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
4.2 pts vs FY23
vs Rural PPS hospitals14th pctl of 387 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at OLEAN GENERAL HOSPITAL is about $2.0M per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).

Where OLEAN GENERAL HOSPITAL sits among Rural PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 387 of 410 filed

Each point is one Rural PPS hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Rural PPS hospital FY24 median is -0.9%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Rural PPS hospital median -0.9%OLEAN GENERAL -13.8%-20%0%+20%Rural PPS hospital median -0.9%OLEAN GENERAL -13.8%
One rural pps hospitalOLEAN GENERALRural PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-13.8% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-9.5% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
16d (FY24)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
0.52× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
20% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
57d (FY24)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue152,888174,137199,874
Other operating revenue3,9176646
Total operating revenue156,804174,203199,921
Total operating expenses200,445210,223227,438
Operating income(43,641)(36,020)(27,517)
Operating margin %-27.8%-20.7%-13.8%
Grants & contributions14,58820,5943,803
Investment income2,204329438
Other non-operating, net1,1754,4783,549
Net income(25,674)(10,619)(19,727)
Net income %-14.7%-5.3%-9.5%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 188-bed hospital running at 48% occupancy, where 69% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
48.5%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
76.30
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
188
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
5,573
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
5 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$8,167
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$40,811
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
16.20
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
17.5%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
68.7%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
1,281
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
20.9%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$16.8M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
1.189
No Different than National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15.5%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
0.94
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
0.938563
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-17.3%-13.7%-27.8%-20.7%-13.8%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
111 days85 days25 days10 days16 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this hospital serves

CATTARAUGUS County, NY · nonmetro, urban 20K+, metro-adjacent
Median household income
$58.2K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
17.6%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
6.3%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
20.3%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
18.9%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 13.6% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 30.9% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Cattaraugus County

Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$227.4M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$94.2M
$79.1M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$523.1M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
4.6%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation

-13.8% operating margin — 19th percentile of 387 peers (FY24 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin improved 6.9 points vs FY23 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

12.9 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $25.8M less operating income than the median rate.

(-13.8% facility vs -0.9% peer median) = 12.9 points below the median × $199.9M revenue ≈ $25.8M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 387.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 387 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Standard Facility Benchmark. 17 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. Every declared facility measure is available for this record, benchmarked against its same-year peer pools. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Rural PPS Performance Benchmark

Your facility against its matched peer cohort, every arithmetic benchmark difference dollarized against the cohort median.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc