Astrelis
Urban PPS hospital · Corbin, KY

BAPTIST HEALTH CORBIN

CCN 180080WHITLEY CountyVoluntary non-profit - Private185 bedsLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
Financial anchor year: FY25. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY25. Balance-sheet measures (current ratio, equity financing, days in A/R) use FY22, the latest filing whose balance sheet reconciled as filed. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read

A hospital in Corbin, KY. It ran an operating surplus of 7.0% in FY25 on $338.0M of operating revenue. It held 0 days of cash on hand (12th percentile of 1,446 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). These figures come from filings spanning FY22–FY25: read each by its own year rather than as one current picture.

Operating margin · FY25
+7.0%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
1.3 pts vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals67th pctl of 1,475 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
0d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
0 days vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals12th pctl of 1,446 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$338.0M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$11.9M vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals56th pctl of 1,503 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
+17.4%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
2.7 pts vs FY24
vs Urban PPS hospitals82nd pctl of 1,476 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at BAPTIST HEALTH CORBIN is about $3.4M per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).

Where BAPTIST HEALTH CORBIN sits among Urban PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 1,475 of 2,643 filed

Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY25 median is +1.3%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +1.3%BAPTIST HEALTH +7.0%-20%0%+20%Urban PPS hospital median +1.3%BAPTIST HEALTH +7.0%
One urban pps hospitalBAPTIST HEALTHUrban PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
+7.0% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+17.4% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
0d (FY25)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
5.16× (FY22)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
88% (FY22)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
47d (FY22)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue285,372322,958333,317
Other operating revenue40,0763,1034,658
Total operating revenue325,448326,061337,975
Total operating expenses281,465298,718314,190
Operating income43,98327,34223,784
Operating margin %+13.5%+8.4%+7.0%
Grants & contributions105
Investment income100
Other non-operating, net1,87747,87842,486
Net income45,96675,22066,270
Net income %+14.0%+20.1%+17.4%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states. FY21 · Days cash on hand: -1 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 185-bed hospital running at 51% occupancy, where 78% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
51.5%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
95.45
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
185
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
8,566
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
4 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$9,043
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$36,679
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
3.87
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
3.9%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
77.7%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
1,068
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
22.7%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0.179
Better than the National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
14.3%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
1
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
0.904101
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
+6.8%+1.9%+13.5%+8.4%+7.0%FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
-1 day0 days0 days0 days0 daysFY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this hospital serves

WHITLEY County, KY
Median household income
$33.2K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
36.7%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
6.5%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
17.3%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
Not available
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 27.0% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 48.9% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Whitley County

Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$314.2M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$96.5M
$81.1M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$722.6M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
13.9%
the county's largest employer · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY25Astrelis calculation

7.0% operating margin — 67th percentile of 1,475 peers (FY25 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin declined 1.3 points vs FY24 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

5.7 points above the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $19.3M more operating income than the median rate.

(7.0% facility vs 1.3% peer median) = 5.7 points above the median × $338.0M revenue ≈ $19.3M more operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY25 pool · n = 1,475.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY25 peer pool · n = 1,475 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 16 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Portfolio Performance Review

Every facility in your portfolio, benchmarked and triaged. Requires only a CCN roster.

From $7,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Request: scoped and quoted before any invoice. No payment is collected on this site.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc