A hospital in Fort Thomas, KY. It ran an operating surplus of 2.3% in FY24 on $162.2M of operating revenue. It held 3,406 days of cash on hand — an Astrelis calculation outside expected range, shown at the chart boundary and ranked in its pool (100th percentile of 2,490 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin improved from -2.8% in FY20 to 2.3% in FY24.
Operating margin · FY24
+2.3%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 0.3 pts vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals51st pctl of 2,563 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
3,406d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 177 days vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals100th pctl of 2,490 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$162.2M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ $8.6M vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals34th pctl of 2,608 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
+3.9%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 0.3 pts vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals43rd pctl of 2,563 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at ST ELIZABETH FT THOMAS is about $1.6M per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).
Where ST ELIZABETH FT sits among Urban PPS hospitals
Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 2,563 of 2,643 filed
Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY24 median is +2.0%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One urban pps hospitalST ELIZABETHUrban PPS hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
Astrelis calculation unavailable — the filed balance sheet does not reconcile as filed (statement values shown unchanged)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY22
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
124,277
152,888
160,255
Other operating revenue
2,204
768
1,964
Total operating revenue
126,481
153,657
162,219
Total operating expenses
136,182
149,676
158,425
Operating income
(9,701)
3,980
3,794
Operating margin %
-7.7%
+2.6%
+2.3%
Grants & contributions
28
—
—
Other non-operating, net
2,966
2,488
2,586
Net income
(6,707)
6,468
6,380
Net income %
-5.2%
+4.1%
+3.9%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states.FY24 · Days cash on hand: 3,406 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY23 · Days cash on hand: 3,229 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY22 · Days cash on hand: 3,088 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY21 · Days cash on hand: 2,406 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY20 · Days cash on hand: 2,153 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 98-bed hospital running at 59% occupancy, where 57% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
59.4%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
58.39
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
98
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
5,872
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
4 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$7,434
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$26,980
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
56.7%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
669.40
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$4.0M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0
Better than the National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15.9%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
1.09
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
1.006721
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
FY24 days cash on hand is an Astrelis calculation outside expected range: charted at the boundary arrow, shown at its actual value in the tiles, and included in peer statistics.
The county this hospital serves
CAMPBELL County, KY · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$77.3K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
10.8%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
4.6%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
17.1%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
Not available
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 8.1% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 18.0% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Campbell County
Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$158.4M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$67.2M
$56.4M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$364.4M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
2.1%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 2,563.
Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 2,563 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 14 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.