A hospital in San Francisco, CA. It ran an operating loss of 43.8% in FY25 on $95.8M of operating revenue. It held 31 days of cash on hand. Operating margin improved from -46.3% in FY21 to -43.8% in FY25.
Operating margin · FY25
-43.8%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 1.9 pts vs FY24
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Days cash on hand · FY25
31d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 5 days vs FY24
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Total operating revenue · FY25
$95.8M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ $1.0M vs FY24
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
-9.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 2.6 pts vs FY24
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
One point of operating margin at JEWISH HOME & REHAB CENTER is about $958K per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY23
FY24
FY25
Patient revenue
88,000
94,729
95,769
Other operating revenue
57
—
—
Total operating revenue
88,057
94,729
95,769
Total operating expenses
130,218
137,984
137,709
Operating income
(42,162)
(43,255)
(41,940)
Operating margin %
-47.9%
-45.7%
-43.8%
Grants & contributions
48
—
—
Investment income
164
292
556
Other non-operating, net
20,566
28,455
29,878
Net income
(21,384)
(14,508)
(11,506)
Net income %
-19.6%
-11.7%
-9.1%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 13-bed psychiatric hospital running at 79% occupancy, where the average stay runs 22.4 days, and operating cost runs $36,625 per patient day.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
79.2%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
10.33
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
13
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
168
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
22 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$36,625
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$819,698
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
How the care measures up
No public quality measures are reported for this facility in the current Care Compare refresh.
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
San Francisco County, CA
Median household income
$141.4K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
10.6%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
3.5%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
17.2%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
16.6%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 4.5% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 8.7% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to San Francisco County
Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$137.7M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$316.7M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a valid same-year peer pool was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 11 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.