Astrelis
Critical Access Hospital · Fort Bragg, CA

ADVENTIST HEALTH MENDOCINO COAST

CCN 051325MENDOCINO CountyVoluntary non-profit - PrivateRural (USDA RUCC)21 bedsLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Fort Bragg, CA. It ran an operating loss of 12.1% in FY24 on $81.6M of operating revenue. It held 52 days of cash on hand (37th percentile of 1,325 Critical Access Hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). 5 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited.

Operating margin · FY24
-12.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals23rd pctl of 1,340 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
52d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals37th pctl of 1,325 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$81.6M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals88th pctl of 1,356 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
-8.8%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals9th pctl of 1,341 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at ADVENTIST HEALTH MENDOCINO COAST is about $816K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).

Where ADVENTIST HEALTH MENDOCINO sits among Critical Access Hospitals

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 1,340 of 1,399 filed

Each point is one Critical Access Hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Critical Access Hospital FY24 median is -1.8%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Critical Access Hospital median -1.8%ADVENTIST HEALTH -12.1%-20%0%+20%Critical Access Hospital median -1.8%ADVENTIST HEALTH -12.1%
One critical access hospitalADVENTIST HEALTHCritical Access Hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-12.1% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-8.8% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
52d (FY24)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
2.33× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
-54% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
52d (FY24)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Medicare inpatient contribution margin
+30.1% (FY24)
53rd percentile of 476 CAHs (FY24 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
Medicare outpatient contribution margin
+42.9% (FY24)
14th percentile of 476 CAHs (FY24 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue77,22681,74281,057
Other operating revenue419268513
Total operating revenue77,64582,00981,570
Total operating expenses79,82989,15591,408
Operating income(2,184)(7,145)(9,837)
Operating margin %-2.8%-8.7%-12.1%
Grants & contributions4893971,101
Investment income191,180547
Other non-operating, net(8)480785
Net income(1,684)(5,088)(7,404)
Net income %-2.1%-6.1%-8.8%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states. FY22 · Net patient A/R: 24,082K Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = 24081.7K (gross HOSP10_2022_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 1510.9K + L00600 22364.1K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)FY22 · Days cash on hand: -170 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY21 · Net patient A/R: -6,493K Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = -6493.3K (gross HOSP10_2021_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 11550.1K + L00600 13736.5K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)FY21 · Days cash on hand: -93 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 21-bed hospital running at 26% occupancy, where swing beds are 45% of the inpatient business, and 79% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
25.7%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
5.42
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
21
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
722
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
3 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$46,212
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$126,604
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
4.36
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
44.6%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
79.0%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$9.1M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
14.5%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results cannot be calculated for this reporting period.

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-2.5%-11.0%-2.8%-8.7%-12.1%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
0 days-93 days-170 days75 days52 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this hospital serves

MENDOCINO County, CA · nonmetro, urban 20K+, metro-adjacent
Median household income
$64.7K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
15.2%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
8.2%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
24.1%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
23.0%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 16.3% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 31.6% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Mendocino County

Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$91.4M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$210.2M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is a critical access hospital, the NCRHW study population. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Medicare inpatient contribution marginFY24Astrelis calculation from reported HCRIS inputs

+30.1% — 53th percentile of 476 matched CAH peers (FY24).

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
CAH Performance Benchmark

10.3 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $8.4M less operating income than the median rate.

(-12.1% facility vs -1.8% peer median) = 10.3 points below the median × $81.6M revenue ≈ $8.4M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve CAH Performance Benchmark →
Commercial Pricing Study

Charge markup ratio 2.10× (gross charges ÷ total operating cost, HCRIS as filed) — the study prices your actual negotiated-rate file against it.

Request Commercial Pricing Study →
How we calculated this

Peer pool matched on: bed-size band · rural status · state (progressively widened to national at a 20-peer floor).

Medicare inpatient contribution margin: FY24 pool · n = 476.

View the formula in the methodology →

CAH Performance Benchmark: FY24 peer pool · n = 1,340 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

CAH Performance Benchmark

Contribution margin by department, Medicare take-back exposure, and capture gaps against matched peers, from your own filed cost report.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.

Commercial Pricing Study

Your negotiated commercial rates against Medicare and against peers, from hospitals' own published price files.

$10,000Scoped after rate-file validation
Rate file unverified · validated before payment
Request: scoped and quoted before any invoice. No payment is collected on this site. We validate your hospital's rate file before taking payment.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc