A hospital in Hot Springs, AR. It ran an operating loss of 6.3% in FY25 on $137.1M of operating revenue. It held 3 days of cash on hand (37th percentile of 1,446 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). Operating margin declined from 0.8% in FY21 to -6.3% in FY25.
Operating margin · FY25
-6.3%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals28th pctl of 1,475 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
3d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals37th pctl of 1,446 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$137.1M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals28th pctl of 1,503 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
-5.6%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Urban PPS hospitals15th pctl of 1,476 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at NATIONAL PARK MEDICAL CENTER is about $1.4M per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).
Where NATIONAL PARK MEDICAL sits among Urban PPS hospitals
Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 1,475 of 2,643 filed
Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY25 median is +1.3%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One urban pps hospitalNATIONAL PARKUrban PPS hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY23
FY24
FY25
Patient revenue
118,823
145,531
136,864
Other operating revenue
19
276
262
Total operating revenue
118,842
145,807
137,127
Total operating expenses
115,691
147,802
145,810
Operating income
3,150
(1,995)
(8,684)
Operating margin %
+2.7%
-1.4%
-6.3%
Grants & contributions
13
(3)
—
Other non-operating, net
653
667
887
Net income
3,816
(1,331)
(7,797)
Net income %
+3.2%
-0.9%
-5.6%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states.FY25 · Net patient A/R — Not reported in source (gross accounts receivable was not filed on Worksheet G, so no net figure exists to derive)FY24 · Days cash on hand: -4 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY23 · Days cash on hand: -8 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY22 · Days cash on hand: -7 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY21 · Days cash on hand: -4 days — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 110-bed hospital running at 37% occupancy, where 44% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
36.6%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
40.41
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
110
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
4,907
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
3 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$9,912
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$29,715
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
43.9%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
796.70
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
14.1%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0
Better than the National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15.8%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
1.18
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
1.067814
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
GARLAND County, AR
Median household income
$55.4K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
16.5%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
9.5%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
24.3%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
22.7%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 16.3% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 34.5% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Garland County
Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$145.8M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$62.9M
$52.9M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$335.4M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
2.1%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY25Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY25 pool · n = 1,475.
Performance Benchmark Report: FY25 peer pool · n = 1,475 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 14 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.