Financial anchor year: FY24. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY24. Balance-sheet measures (current ratio, equity financing, days in A/R) use FY20, the latest filing whose balance sheet reconciled as filed. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read
A hospital in Panguitch, UT. It ran an operating surplus of 1.7% in FY24 on $16.3M of operating revenue. It held 72 days of cash on hand (42nd percentile of 1,325 Critical Access Hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin improved from -5.6% in FY20 to 1.7% in FY24. These figures come from filings spanning FY20–FY24: read each by its own year rather than as one current picture.
Operating margin · FY24
+1.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 1.1 pts vs FY23
vs Critical Access Hospitals61st pctl of 1,340 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
72d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 81 days vs FY23
vs Critical Access Hospitals42nd pctl of 1,325 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$16.3M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ $1.1M vs FY23
vs Critical Access Hospitals23rd pctl of 1,356 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
+9.1%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 0.4 pts vs FY23
vs Critical Access Hospitals67th pctl of 1,341 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at INTERMOUNTAIN HEALTH GARFIELD MEMORIAL HOSPITAL is about $163K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).
Where INTERMOUNTAIN HEALTH GARFIELD sits among Critical Access Hospitals
Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 1,340 of 1,399 filed
Each point is one Critical Access Hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Critical Access Hospital FY24 median is -1.8%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One critical access hospitalINTERMOUNTAIN HEALTHCritical Access Hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Medicare inpatient contribution margin
+8.3% (FY24)
26th percentile of 171 CAHs (FY24 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
Medicare outpatient contribution margin
+52.5% (FY24)
53rd percentile of 171 CAHs (FY24 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
$ in thousands
Line item
FY22
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
14,327
15,183
16,311
Other operating revenue
7
7
9
Total operating revenue
14,334
15,190
16,319
Total operating expenses
14,533
15,091
16,041
Operating income
(199)
99
278
Operating margin %
-1.4%
+0.7%
+1.7%
Grants & contributions
337
308
351
Other non-operating, net
1,080
1,176
972
Net income
1,218
1,583
1,601
Net income %
+7.7%
+9.5%
+9.1%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 15-bed hospital running at 12% occupancy, where swing beds are 38% of the inpatient business, and 83% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
12.4%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
1.86
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
15
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
270
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
3 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$23,625
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$59,411
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
1.12
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
37.5%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
82.8%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$1.1M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
14.8%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results cannot be calculated for this reporting period.
Commercial negotiated rates as a percent of Medicare rates, outpatient basket. Chart bound 300%; values beyond it are clipped at the bar edge and shown at their actual figure.
Hospital price files + Medicare rates
Directional indicator from public price files. Facility-specific rate positioning is the Commercial Pricing Study →
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
GARFIELD County, UT · nonmetro, rural, remote
Median household income
$61.7K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
11.1%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
12.3%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
22.7%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
16.3%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 9.2% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 24.4% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Garfield County
Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$16.0M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$36.9M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is a critical access hospital, the NCRHW study population. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Medicare inpatient contribution marginFY24Astrelis calculation from reported HCRIS inputs
+8.3% — 26th percentile of 171 matched CAH peers (FY24).
The Board Briefing
Operating margin improved 1.1 points vs FY23 — the briefing traces why, line by line.
CAH Performance Benchmark: FY24 peer pool · n = 1,340 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Basis: line-level service basket · 21 classified commercial payers (42% of commercial volume classified) · pricing files captured 2026-07-19 · numerator: negotiated commercial allowed amounts (classified payers) · denominator: Medicare OPPS-equivalent for the same services · weighting: volume-weighted line-level outpatient service basket (CY2026 OPPS equivalent).
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.