A hospital in Houston, TX. It ran an operating loss of 11.6% in FY25 on $3437.6M of operating revenue. It held 364 days of cash on hand (69th percentile of 36 Children's hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). Operating margin improved from -26.4% in FY20 to -11.6% in FY25. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 8.0%.
Operating margin · FY25
-11.6%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 9.7 pts vs FY24
vs Children's hospitals21st pctl of 38 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
364d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 22 days vs FY24
vs Children's hospitals69th pctl of 36 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$3.44B
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ $391.7M vs FY24
vs Children's hospitals95th pctl of 41 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
+8.0%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 7.8 pts vs FY24
vs Children's hospitals39th pctl of 38 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at TEXAS CHILDRENS HOSPITAL is about $34.4M per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).
Where TEXAS CHILDRENS HOSPITAL sits among Children's hospitals
Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 38 of 73 filed
Each point is one Children's hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Children's hospital FY25 median is +3.6%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One children's hospitalTEXAS CHILDRENSChildren's hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY23
FY24
FY25
Patient revenue
2,842,123
3,045,921
3,437,613
Total operating revenue
2,842,123
3,045,921
3,437,613
Total operating expenses
3,638,037
3,694,740
3,837,348
Operating income
(795,914)
(648,818)
(399,735)
Operating margin %
-28.0%
-21.3%
-11.6%
Grants & contributions
58,913
53,022
57,537
Investment income
13,248
12,938
19,576
Other non-operating, net
820,284
590,342
656,718
Net income
96,531
7,484
334,096
Net income %
+2.6%
+0.2%
+8.0%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY25 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 627-bed children's hospital running at 63% occupancy, where operating cost runs $120,501 per discharge (unadjusted), and 46% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
62.5%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
372.72
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
627
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
31,845
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
4 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$28,284
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$120,501
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
46.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: CMS does not publish these measures for this provider subtype (it does not participate in the acute-care IQR/OQR reporting programs, which do not apply here).
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 6 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
HARRIS County, TX · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$73.1K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
15.9%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
21.2%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
11.4%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
21.8%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 5.6% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 12.9% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Harris County
Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$3.84B
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$8.83B
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY25Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY25 pool · n = 38.
Performance Benchmark Report: FY25 peer pool · n = 38 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 12 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.