Astrelis
Rural PPS hospital · Pineville, KY

PINEVILLE COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTER, INC

CCN 180154Bell CountyVoluntary non-profit - PrivateRural (USDA RUCC)41 bedsLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Pineville, KY. It ran an operating loss of 61.4% in FY24 on $28.2M of operating revenue. It held 6 days of cash on hand (32nd percentile of 386 Rural PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). 5 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited.

Operating margin · FY24
-61.4%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals1st pctl of 387 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
6d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals32nd pctl of 386 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$28.2M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals13th pctl of 393 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
-61.4%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Rural PPS hospitals1st pctl of 387 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at PINEVILLE COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTER, INC is about $282K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).

Where PINEVILLE COMMUNITY HEALTH sits among Rural PPS hospitals

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 387 of 410 filed

Each point is one Rural PPS hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Rural PPS hospital FY24 median is -0.9%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Rural PPS hospital median -0.9%PINEVILLE COMMUNITY -61.4%-20%0%+20%Rural PPS hospital median -0.9%PINEVILLE COMMUNITY -61.4%
One rural pps hospitalPINEVILLE COMMUNITYRural PPS hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
-61.4% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-61.4% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
6d (FY24)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
1.15× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
1% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
34d (FY24)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue7,14913,06426,598
Other operating revenue1,0424,0361,639
Total operating revenue8,19117,10128,237
Total operating expenses11,87617,74145,566
Operating income(3,685)(640)(17,330)
Operating margin %-45.0%-3.7%-61.4%
Other non-operating, net1,18300
Net income(2,502)(640)(17,330)
Net income %-26.7%-3.7%-61.4%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 41-bed hospital running at 5% occupancy, where 90% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
5.4%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
2.23
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
41
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
247
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
3 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$56,047
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$184,478
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
90.1%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
93.60
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$1.1M
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
14.9%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
1.33
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
Not reported in source (note 2)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results are based on a shorter time period than required.; Results cannot be calculated for this reporting period.Note 2: The number of cases/patients is too few to report.

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-56.3%-55.2%-45.0%-3.7%-61.4%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
232 days14 days16 days40 days6 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this hospital serves

BELL County, KY · nonmetro, urban 5–20K
Median household income
$32.4K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
27.1%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
6.7%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
18.8%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
Not available
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 32.4% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 55.3% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Bell County

Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$45.6M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$30.1M
$25.3M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$104.8M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
1.1%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation

-61.4% operating margin — 1th percentile of 387 peers (FY24 pool).

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

60.5 points below the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $17.1M less operating income than the median rate.

(-61.4% facility vs -0.9% peer median) = 60.5 points below the median × $28.2M revenue ≈ $17.1M less operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 387.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 387 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 14 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

Rural PPS Performance Benchmark

Your facility against its matched peer cohort, every arithmetic benchmark difference dollarized against the cohort median.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc