A hospital in Aurora, CO. It ran an operating loss of 5.0% in FY24 on $1616.9M of operating revenue. It held 126 days of cash on hand (44th percentile of 64 Children's hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin improved from -9.1% in FY20 to -5.0% in FY24. Including nonoperating items, the all-in result was positive at 5.8%.
Operating margin · FY24
-5.0%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 2.9 pts vs FY23
vs Children's hospitals21st pctl of 66 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
126d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 1 days vs FY23
vs Children's hospitals44th pctl of 64 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$1.62B
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ $119.3M vs FY23
vs Children's hospitals84th pctl of 68 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
+5.8%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ 1.9 pts vs FY23
vs Children's hospitals30th pctl of 66 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL COLORADO is about $16.2M per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).
Where CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL COLORADO sits among Children's hospitals
Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 66 of 73 filed
Each point is one Children's hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Children's hospital FY24 median is +5.6%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One children's hospitalCHILDREN'S HOSPITALChildren's hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY22
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
1,423,610
1,474,293
1,588,571
Other operating revenue
15,311
23,284
28,296
Total operating revenue
1,438,921
1,497,577
1,616,867
Total operating expenses
1,456,315
1,615,986
1,697,530
Operating income
(17,394)
(118,410)
(80,663)
Operating margin %
-1.2%
-7.9%
-5.0%
Grants & contributions
39,959
53,703
57,222
Investment income
(3,681)
28,564
23,376
Other non-operating, net
110,682
100,787
103,863
Net income
129,566
64,644
103,798
Net income %
+8.2%
+3.8%
+5.8%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 299-bed children's hospital running at 62% occupancy, where operating cost runs $108,565 per discharge (unadjusted), and 46% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
61.6%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
176.36
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
299
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
15,636
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
4 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$26,371
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$108,565
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
45.6%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: CMS does not publish these measures for this provider subtype (it does not participate in the acute-care IQR/OQR reporting programs, which do not apply here).
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
ADAMS County, CO · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$91.4K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
9.4%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
11.1%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
11.0%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
18.8%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 7.0% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 16.1% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Adams County
Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$1.70B
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$3.90B
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 66.
Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 66 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 12 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.