Astrelis
Critical Access Hospital · King City, CA

SOUTHERN MONTEREY COUNTY MEMORIAL HOSPITAL

CCN 051336MONTEREY CountyVoluntary non-profit - OtherUrban (USDA RUCC)13 bedsLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in King City, CA. It ran an operating surplus of 7.3% in FY25 on $79.0M of operating revenue. It held 102 days of cash on hand (49th percentile of 822 Critical Access Hospitals on liquidity, FY25 pool). 5 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited.

Operating margin · FY25
+7.3%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals74th pctl of 824 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
102d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals49th pctl of 822 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$79.0M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals86th pctl of 833 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
+8.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Critical Access Hospitals60th pctl of 824 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at SOUTHERN MONTEREY COUNTY MEMORIAL HOSPITAL is about $790K per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).

Where SOUTHERN MONTEREY COUNTY sits among Critical Access Hospitals

Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 824 of 1,399 filed

Each point is one Critical Access Hospital in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Critical Access Hospital FY25 median is -0.2%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Critical Access Hospital median -0.2%SOUTHERN MONTEREY +7.3%-20%0%+20%Critical Access Hospital median -0.2%SOUTHERN MONTEREY +7.3%
One critical access hospitalSOUTHERN MONTEREYCritical Access Hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
+7.3% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+8.7% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
102d (FY25)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
3.21× (FY25)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
78% (FY25)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
35d (FY25)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Medicare inpatient contribution margin
+11.6% (FY25)
21st percentile of 117 CAHs (FY25 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
Medicare outpatient contribution margin
+69.6% (FY25)
92nd percentile of 116 CAHs (FY25 pool). Full comparison in the CAH Performance Benchmark.
HCRIS cost report · CAH economics engine
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue68,08168,12077,585
Other operating revenue1658321,417
Total operating revenue68,24568,95279,002
Total operating expenses68,28272,60473,253
Operating income(37)(3,652)5,749
Operating margin %-0.1%-5.3%+7.3%
Grants & contributions2,396866463
Investment income190570529
Other non-operating, net1,4112,073233
Net income3,960(143)6,974
Net income %+5.5%-0.2%+8.7%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY25 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states. FY20 · Operating and total margin Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -9,716K · Net patient revenue 8,881KFY20 · Days cash on hand: -130 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 13-bed hospital running at 19% occupancy, where swing beds are 63% of the inpatient business, and 82% of patient revenue is outpatient.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
18.9%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
2.46
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
13
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
389
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
2 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$81,755
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$188,311
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Swing-bed average daily census
4.20
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 L5–6
Swing-bed share of inpatient days
63.1%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3 (acute + swing days)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
81.9%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$25.4M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
Not reported in source (note 1)
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15.1%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Note 1: Results cannot be calculated for this reporting period.

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 6 reporting years
Operating margin
+25.4%+8.1%-0.1%-5.3%+7.3%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
-130 days53 days57 days34 days56 days102 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this hospital serves

MONTEREY County, CA · metro, 250K–1M
Median household income
$94.5K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
12.6%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
9.9%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
14.5%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
25.8%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 7.1% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 16.8% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Monterey County

Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$73.3M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$168.5M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is a critical access hospital, the NCRHW study population. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Medicare inpatient contribution marginFY25Astrelis calculation from reported HCRIS inputs

+11.6% — 21th percentile of 117 matched CAH peers (FY25).

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
CAH Performance Benchmark

7.5 points above the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $5.9M more operating income than the median rate.

(7.3% facility vs -0.2% peer median) = 7.5 points above the median × $79.0M revenue ≈ $5.9M more operating income than the median rate
Reserve CAH Performance Benchmark →
Commercial Pricing Study

Charge markup ratio 3.20× (gross charges ÷ total operating cost, HCRIS as filed) — the study prices your actual negotiated-rate file against it.

Request Commercial Pricing Study →
How we calculated this

Peer pool matched on: bed-size band · rural status · state (progressively widened to national at a 20-peer floor).

Medicare inpatient contribution margin: FY25 pool · n = 117.

View the formula in the methodology →

CAH Performance Benchmark: FY25 peer pool · n = 824 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.

CAH Performance Benchmark

Contribution margin by department, Medicare take-back exposure, and capture gaps against matched peers, from your own filed cost report.

$2,500Founding Edition · within 30 days of coverage confirmation
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site. Full refund if the published scope cannot be delivered.

Commercial Pricing Study

Your negotiated commercial rates against Medicare and against peers, from hospitals' own published price files.

$10,000Scoped after rate-file validation
Rate file unverified · validated before payment
Request: scoped and quoted before any invoice. No payment is collected on this site. We validate your hospital's rate file before taking payment.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc