A hospital in Turlock, CA. It ran an operating surplus of 14.4% in FY24 on $335.6M of operating revenue. It held 10 days of cash on hand (44th percentile of 2,490 Urban PPS hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin improved from 9.3% in FY20 to 14.4% in FY24.
Operating margin · FY24
+14.4%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 0.1 pts vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals80th pctl of 2,563 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
10d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▼ 0 days vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals44th pctl of 2,490 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$335.6M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▲ $17.7M vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals58th pctl of 2,608 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
+15.5%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
▬ 0.0 pts vs FY23
vs Urban PPS hospitals78th pctl of 2,563 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at EMANUEL MEDICAL CENTER is about $3.4M per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).
Where EMANUEL MEDICAL CENTER sits among Urban PPS hospitals
Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 2,563 of 2,643 filed
Each point is one Urban PPS hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Urban PPS hospital FY24 median is +2.0%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One urban pps hospitalEMANUEL MEDICALUrban PPS hospital median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
-39d (FY24) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY22
FY23
FY24
Patient revenue
286,052
317,937
335,616
Total operating revenue
286,052
317,937
335,616
Total operating expenses
254,161
271,756
287,307
Operating income
31,891
46,181
48,308
Operating margin %
+11.1%
+14.5%
+14.4%
Grants & contributions
—
(5)
—
Investment income
125
19
0
Other non-operating, net
4,119
3,804
4,485
Net income
36,135
49,999
52,793
Net income %
+12.4%
+15.5%
+15.5%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states.FY24 · Net patient A/R: -36,050K — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = -36050.5K (gross HOSP10_2024_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 90402.8K + L00600 234973.1K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)FY23 · Net patient A/R: -13,760K — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = -13759.9K (gross HOSP10_2023_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 76716.5K + L00600 210468.5K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)FY22 · Net patient A/R: -8,870K — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = -8869.8K (gross HOSP10_2022_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 70545.5K + L00600 212550.0K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)FY20 · Net patient A/R: -11,464K — Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (AD-1198: calculation shown and flagged. net A/R = gross - |allowances| = -11464.4K (gross HOSP10_2020_nmrc.csv G000000 L00400; allowances L00500 66083.7K + L00600 197265.0K, magnitudes). Result is outside expected range vs total assets; displayed with the out-of-range state, never withheld. AD-1206: allowances net on crosswalk lines beyond L5/L6; panel aligned to the bucket layer's contra-netted value (one value across surfaces).)
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
A 191-bed hospital running at 41% occupancy, where 64% of patient revenue is outpatient.
The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Scale and flow
Occupancy
41.4%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
79.30
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
191
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
8,172
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
4 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$9,927
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$35,158
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
Outpatient share of patient revenue
64.0%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS G-2 L28
Total FTEs
824.30
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt II
Contract labor share of labor cost
21.7%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3 Pt V
Who it serves
Total unreimbursed & uncompensated care
$17.8M
Reported value2023
HCRIS WS S-10 line 31
How the care measures up
C. difficile infection (SIR)
0.228
Better than the National Benchmark
CMS-reported measure07/01/2024 to 06/30/2025
CMS Care Compare
Hospital-wide unplanned readmission
15.4%
No Different Than the National Rate
CMS-reported measure07/01/2023 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Medicare spending per beneficiary
0.95
CMS-reported measure01/01/2024 to 12/31/2024
CMS Care Compare
Patient-safety composite (PSI-90)
0.863769
CMS-reported measure07/01/2022 to 06/30/2024
CMS Care Compare
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this hospital serves
STANISLAUS County, CA · metro, 250K–1M
Median household income
$79.7K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
13.1%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
6.0%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
13.6%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
25.2%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 11.6% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 24.1% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Stanislaus County
Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$287.3M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Labor income
$112.0M
$94.1M direct compensation × 1.19 · NCRHW 2016 CAH study · Illustrative estimate
Economic activity
$660.8M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Share of county employment
0.4%
of all county jobs · Reported value
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 2,563.
Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 2,563 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.