Astrelis
Psychiatric hospital · Phoenix, AZ

HAVEN BEHAVIORAL HOSPITAL OF PHOENIX

CCN 034020MARICOPA CountyProprietaryUrban (USDA RUCC)56 bedsLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
Financial anchor year: FY25. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY25. Days cash on hand is FY23, the most recent year that passed the display gate. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read

A hospital in Phoenix, AZ. It ran an operating surplus of 20.7% in FY25 on $19.8M of operating revenue. It held -0 days of cash on hand in FY23, its most recent reported liquidity — an Astrelis calculation outside expected range, shown at the chart boundary and ranked in its pool (47th percentile of 416 Psychiatric hospitals on liquidity, FY23 pool). Operating margin improved from -2.9% in FY21 to 20.7% in FY25.

Operating margin · FY25
+20.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Days cash on hand · FY23
-0d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs Psychiatric hospitals47th pctl of 416 (FY23 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY25
$19.8M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY25
+20.7%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
One point of operating margin at HAVEN BEHAVIORAL HOSPITAL OF PHOENIX is about $198K per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
+20.7% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+20.7% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
0d (FY23)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
3.07× (FY25)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
21% (FY25)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
165d (FY25)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Patient revenue13,68116,53819,234
Other operating revenue1,4331,297549
Total operating revenue15,11417,83519,783
Total operating expenses15,17915,89715,692
Operating income(65)1,9384,091
Operating margin %-0.4%+10.9%+20.7%
Other non-operating, net110
Net income(64)1,9394,091
Net income %-0.4%+10.9%+20.7%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY21–FY25 · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income
Display states. FY25 · Days cash on hand Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY24 · Days cash on hand Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY23 · Days cash on hand: -0 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)FY21 · Days cash on hand: -0 days Astrelis calculation · outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics (out of display range)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 56-bed psychiatric hospital running at 99% occupancy, where the average stay runs 10.9 days, and operating cost runs $778 per patient day.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
98.7%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
55.42
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
56
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
1,843
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
11 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$778
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$8,514
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
How the care measures up
No public quality measures are reported for this facility in the current Care Compare refresh.

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-2.9%+6.7%-0.4%+10.9%+20.7%FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
-0 days0 days-0 daysFY21FY22FY23FY24FY25

The county this hospital serves

MARICOPA County, AZ
Median household income
$85.5K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
11.3%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
10.7%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
16.0%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
17.5%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 7.2% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 16.8% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Maricopa County

Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$15.7M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$36.1M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin (as filed)FY25Astrelis calculation

20.7% operating margin in FY25.

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a valid same-year peer pool was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 11 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc