Financial anchor year: FY25. Margin and revenue are as filed for FY25. Balance-sheet measures (current ratio, equity financing, days in A/R) use FY21, the latest filing whose balance sheet reconciled as filed. Every tile below states its own fiscal year; nothing is carried forward or estimated.
The read
A skilled nursing facility in State Center, IA. It ran an operating loss of 1.5% in FY25 on $3.6M of operating revenue. It held 0 days of cash on hand (20th percentile of 12,522 SNFs on liquidity, FY25 pool). 6 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited. On care, it carries a 4-star CMS quality rating. These figures come from filings spanning FY21–FY25: read each by its own year rather than as one current picture.
Overall Five-Star
4
Reported value2025
Source: CMS Care Compare
Total nursing HPRD
3.38
Reported value2025
Source: CMS PBJ staffing
Operating margin · FY25
-1.5%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs SNFs42nd pctl of 12,880 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY25
0d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
vs SNFs20th pctl of 12,522 (FY25 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Where State Center Specialty sits among SNFs
Operating margin · FY25 pool · n = 12,880 of 13,649 filed
Each point is one SNF in the national FY25 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The SNF FY25 median is +0.6%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.
One snfState CenterSNF median
The money
$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated
Ratios tell you how this skilled nursing facility is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.
Operating margin
-1.5% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
-3.3% (FY25)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
0d (FY25)
Cash & investments ÷ daily operating expense
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
1.61× (FY21)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
40% (FY21)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
64d (FY21)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line item
FY23
FY24
FY25
Patient revenue
2,906
3,224
3,562
Total operating revenue
2,906
3,224
3,562
Total operating expenses
3,219
3,630
3,615
Operating income
(312)
(406)
(52)
Operating margin %
-10.8%
-12.6%
-1.5%
Other non-operating, net
19
11
(67)
Net income
(293)
(395)
(119)
Net income %
-10.0%
-12.2%
-3.3%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 (SNF) · $ thousands · FY20–FY25 · operating revenue reflects net patient revenue (the SNF form carries no other-operating split) · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in other income
How it operates
quality & operational context · CMS public reporting
The metrics this skilled nursing facility type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.
Overall Five-Star
4
Reported value2025
CMS Care Compare
Health inspection star
3
Reported value2025
CMS Care Compare
Quality measure star
5
Reported value2025
CMS Care Compare
Staffing star
4
Reported value2025
CMS Care Compare
Total nursing HPRD
3.38
Reported value2025
CMS PBJ staffing
RN HPRD
0.89
Reported value2025
CMS PBJ staffing
Total nurse turnover
45.2%
Reported value2025
CMS PBJ staffing
Occupancy
81.7%
Astrelis calculation2025
HCRIS WS S-1 (SNF cost report)
Medicare day share
7.7%
Astrelis calculation2025
HCRIS WS S-1 (SNF cost report)
Medicaid day share
68.7%
Astrelis calculation2025
HCRIS WS S-1 (SNF cost report)
Other payer day share
23.6%
Astrelis calculation2025
HCRIS WS S-1 (SNF cost report)
Trajectory
Cost-report basis · 6 reporting years
Operating margin
Days cash on hand
The county this skilled nursing facility serves
Marshall County, IA · nonmetro, urban 20K+, metro-adjacent
Median household income
$72.8K
vs $82.1K US · $59.7K rural median
Poverty rate
11.1%
vs 12.5% US · 14.3% rural median
Uninsured
5.4%
vs 8.6% US · 8.4% rural median
Age 65+
18.5%
vs 16.8% US · 20.6% rural median
Fair or poor health
19.4%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 11.5% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 25.6% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY25Astrelis calculation
A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a benchmark input was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.
Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY25 pool · n = 12,880.
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 15 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
The Board Briefing
Your facility and its world, board-ready. Measures the public record does not carry become findings, never a decline reason.
$1,000delivered within 2 business days of invoice
Reservation: invoice after coverage confirmation. No payment is collected on this site.