# Hospices in Iowa · Financial Profiles

State rollup · IA · Hospices  
Page: https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/state/ia  
This twin: https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/state/ia.md  
Release: 2321a4fc37a7 (2026-10-22)

Iowa's 40 current hospices (plus 7 historical records, listed and labeled below) trail the national cohort: median operating margin -8.4% against -0.8% nationally. 65% of the state's cohort filed an operating loss in its latest year. Median liquidity stands at 42 days cash on hand.

## Counts

- Current hospices: 40
- Historical records (CMS lists the CCN as terminated; listed and labeled below, excluded from counts and medians): 7
- Records listed: 47

## Medians

- **Median operating margin:** -8.4%. Basis: n = 40 values, each facility at its own latest settled fiscal year (FY2023 to FY2025). Astrelis calculation.
- **Median days cash on hand:** 42 days. Basis: n = 32 values, each facility at its own latest settled fiscal year (FY2021 to FY2025). Astrelis calculation.
- **National median operating margin (the module's benchmark pool, as the page's narrative compares it):** -0.8%. Basis: n = 3,640 facilities in the national pool, each at its own latest settled fiscal year. Astrelis calculation.

Each median is over eligibility-gated latest-year values from the clean-room panel; facility rows below are shown as filed; historical records are excluded from the medians.

## Facilities (47 records: 40 current, 7 historical)

Every row is as filed; a cell states its public state ("Not reported in source", "Astrelis calculation unavailable") rather than a dash. Each facility links to its profile and to the profile's twin.

| Facility | City | Latest FY | Patient days | Avg daily census | Routine home care mix | General inpatient mix | Operating margin |
|---|---|---:|---:|---:|---:|---:|---:|
| [ABOVE & BEYOND HOSPICE CARE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161581) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161581.md)) | Monticello | 2023 | 11,126 | 30 | 99% | 0% | -6.4% |
| [ASERACARE HOSPICE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161532) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161532.md)) | Council Bluffs | 2025 | 10,218 | 36 | 100% | 0% | -18.1% |
| [BEACON OF HOPE HOSPICE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161552) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161552.md)) | Davenport | 2025 | 15,942 | 51 | 100% | 0% | +6.3% |
| [CARE INITIATIVES HOSPICE - ALBIA](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161596) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161596.md)) | Albia | 2025 | 18,951 | 47 | 100% | 0% | +25.2% |
| [CARE INITIATIVES HOSPICE - CEDAR FALLS](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161593) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161593.md)) | Cedar Falls | 2025 | 51,566 | 129 | 99% | 0% | +15.6% |
| [CARE INITIATIVES HOSPICE - CEDAR RAPIDS](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161597) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161597.md)) | Cedar Rapids | 2025 | 14,417 | 24 | 100% | 0% | +11.4% |
| [CARE INITIATIVES HOSPICE - GREENFIELD](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161595) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161595.md)) | Greenfield | 2025 | 25,358 | 55 | 100% | 0% | +19.6% |
| [CARE INITIATIVES HOSPICE - SIOUX CITY](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161592) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161592.md)) | Sioux City | 2025 | 27,191 | 60 | 100% | 0% | +21.0% |
| [CARE INITIATIVES HOSPICE - WEST DES MOINES](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161594) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161594.md)) | West Des Moines | 2025 | 18,596 | 49 | 100% | 0% | +12.8% |
| [CEDAR VALLEY HOSPICE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161504) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161504.md)) | Waterloo | 2025 | 61,746 | 157 | 96% | 2% | -32.5% |
| [ESSENCE OF LIFE HOSPICE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161580) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161580.md)) | Amana | 2025 | 20,418 | 61 | 100% | 0% | -11.3% |
| [EVERYSTEP](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161500) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161500.md)) | Des Moines | 2025 | 64,815 | 172 | 97% | 3% | -35.2% |
| [EVERYSTEP](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161563) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161563.md)) | Mount Pleasant | 2025 | 12,766 | 29 | 100% | 0% | -26.1% |
| [EVERYSTEP](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161574) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161574.md)) · historical | Co Bluffs | 2024 | 6,966 | Not reported in source | 100% | 0% | -8.0% |
| [GATEWAY HOSPICE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161556) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161556.md)) · historical | Clarion | 2022 | 3,825 | Not reported in source | 98% | 1% | -12.2% |
| [GENERATIONS HOSPICE CARE INC](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161599) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161599.md)) | Missouri Valley | 2025 | 6,188 | 13 | 98% | 0% | -9.6% |
| [GENTIVA](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161575) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161575.md)) | Panora | 2025 | 11,724 | 17 | 100% | 0% | +3.3% |
| [GENTIVA](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161582) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161582.md)) | Carroll | 2025 | 10,852 | 22 | 100% | 0% | -9.2% |
| [GENTIVA](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161586) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161586.md)) | Spirit Lake | 2025 | 12,051 | 41 | 100% | 0% | -14.3% |
| [Gentiva I](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161610) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161610.md)) · historical | West Des Moines | 2024 | 1,994 | Not reported in source | 100% | 0% | -89.2% |
| [Gentiva II](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161613) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161613.md)) · historical | Hiawatha | 2024 | 651 | Not reported in source | 99% | 0% | -0.3% |
| [GOOD SAMARITAN SOCIETY HOME CARE AND HOSPICE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161591) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161591.md)) | Ottumwa | 2025 | 3,998 | 8 | 99% | 0% | -26.2% |
| [HEARTLAND HOSPICE (WEST DES MOINES)](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161616) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161616.md)) | Ames | 2025 | 4,388 | 9 | 100% | 0% | -59.0% |
| [HEARTLAND HOSPICE DAVENPORT](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161568) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161568.md)) | Davenport | 2025 | 53,142 | 128 | 100% | 0% | -14.0% |
| [HILLCREST HOSPICE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161614) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161614.md)) | Council Bluffs | 2025 | 18,454 | 43 | 100% | 0% | +7.1% |
| [HOSPICE COMPASSUS - NORTHEAST IOWA](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161566) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161566.md)) | Cedar Rapids | 2025 | 57,445 | 145 | 99% | 1% | -13.3% |
| [HOSPICE INC SERVING DAVIS & WAPELLO COUNTIES](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161513) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161513.md)) | Ottumwa | 2024 | 9,576 | 25 | 96% | 1% | -15.5% |
| [HOSPICE OF DUBUQUE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161514) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161514.md)) | Dubuque | 2025 | 51,944 | 117 | 100% | 0% | -52.4% |
| [HOSPICE OF JACKSON COUNTY](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161569) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161569.md)) | Maquoketa | 2025 | 10,527 | 29 | 99% | 0% | -8.4% |
| [HOSPICE OF MIDWEST](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161617) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161617.md)) | Sioux City | 2025 | 8,368 | 16 | 100% | 0% | +13.1% |
| [HOSPICE OF SIOUXLAND](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161502) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161502.md)) · historical | Not reported in source | 2024 | 23,339 | Not reported in source | 100% | 0% | -42.2% |
| [HOSPICE OF SOUTHWEST IOWA](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161576) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161576.md)) · historical | Not reported in source | 2021 | 2,514 | Not reported in source | 100% | 0% | -23.7% |
| [HOSPICE OF THE MIDWEST, LLC](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161609) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161609.md)) | Johnston | 2025 | 52,150 | 135 | 100% | 0% | +28.2% |
| [HOSPICE OF THE MIDWEST, LLC](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161615) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161615.md)) · historical | Glenwood | 2024 | 781 | Not reported in source | 100% | 0% | -57.6% |
| [HOSPICE OF WASHINGTON COUNTY](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161544) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161544.md)) | Washington | 2025 | 8,030 | 20 | 100% | 0% | -38.9% |
| [IOWA CITY HOSPICE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161507) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161507.md)) | Iowa City | 2025 | 35,364 | 74 | 99% | 0% | -13.7% |
| [IOWA RIVER HOSPICE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161505) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161505.md)) | Marshalltown | 2025 | 13,100 | 28 | 97% | 2% | -19.3% |
| [LEE COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161517) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161517.md)) | Fort Madison | 2025 | 2,371 | 8 | 100% | 0% | -837.7% |
| [MERCYONE DES MOINES HOSPICE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161506) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161506.md)) | Des Moines | 2023 | 5,986 | 35 | 93% | 6% | -180.7% |
| [MERCYONE NORTH IOWA HOSPICE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161503) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161503.md)) | Mason City | 2025 | 10,236 | 31 | 97% | 2% | +68.0% |
| [MOMENTS HOSPICE OF DES MOINES LLC](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161612) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161612.md)) | Hiawatha | 2025 | 15,142 | 3 | 100% | 0% | -8.5% |
| [ST CROIX HOSPICE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161583) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161583.md)) | Ankeny | 2025 | 50,514 | 113 | 100% | 0% | -8.1% |
| [ST CROIX HOSPICE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161602) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161602.md)) | Co Bluffs | 2025 | 50,692 | 130 | 100% | 0% | -2.0% |
| [ST CROIX HOSPICE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161604) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161604.md)) | Strawberry Point | 2025 | 91,372 | 237 | 100% | 0% | +6.8% |
| [ST CROIX HOSPICE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161605) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161605.md)) | Charles City | 2025 | 68,850 | 150 | 100% | 0% | -1.6% |
| [ST CROIX HOSPICE](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161607) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161607.md)) | Spirit Lake | 2025 | 72,785 | 160 | 100% | 0% | -2.4% |
| [SUNCREST HOSPICE, LLC](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161608) ([twin](https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/161608.md)) | West Des Moines | 2025 | 112,553 | 303 | 100% | 0% | +27.8% |

## Sources

Financial figures are compiled from public HCRIS Medicare cost reports and standardized by Astrelis. State medians use eligibility-gated latest-year values from the clean-room panel; facility rows are shown as filed. Values are source-reported context, not audited by Astrelis, and not a ranking.

Methodology: https://astrelis.co/methodology · Data sources: https://astrelis.co/data-sources · Data philosophy: https://astrelis.co/data-philosophy

## Cite this page

Astrelis Atlas, "Hospices in Iowa · Financial Profiles", https://astrelis.co/providers/hospice/state/ia, release 2321a4fc37a7 (2026-10-22). Figures as filed in the named public sources; not audited by Astrelis.

Figures are as filed in the named public sources. Astrelis is not a CPA firm and performs no audit, review or attestation of any facility.
