Astrelis
Psychiatric hospital · Detroit, MI

SAMARITAN BEHAVIORAL CENTER

CCN 234040WAYNE CountyVoluntary non-profit - PrivateUrban (USDA RUCC)55 bedsLatest FY 2024
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Detroit, MI. It ran an operating surplus of 5.5% in FY24 on $16.2M of operating revenue. It held 4 days of cash on hand (62nd percentile of 422 Psychiatric hospitals on liquidity, FY24 pool). Operating margin improved from -2.8% in FY20 to 5.5% in FY24.

Operating margin · FY24
+5.5%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
20.4 pts vs FY23
vs Psychiatric hospitals51st pctl of 437 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Days cash on hand · FY24
4d
all sources
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
3 days vs FY23
vs Psychiatric hospitals62nd pctl of 422 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total operating revenue · FY24
$16.2M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
$1.1M vs FY23
vs Psychiatric hospitals36th pctl of 509 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
Total margin · incl. nonoperating · FY24
+11.0%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
16.8 pts vs FY23
vs Psychiatric hospitals60th pctl of 434 (FY24 pool)
pool: this metric's own fiscal year · excludes historical, non-panel, and out-of-range values
One point of operating margin at SAMARITAN BEHAVIORAL CENTER is about $162K per year (1% of FY24 total operating revenue).

Where SAMARITAN BEHAVIORAL CENTER sits among Psychiatric hospitals

Operating margin · FY24 pool · n = 437 of 601 filed

Each point is one Psychiatric hospital in the national FY24 distribution for this provider type, placed by operating margin. Facilities are not matched on size, case mix, or market; that is the matched-peer comparison in the paid benchmark. The Psychiatric hospital FY24 median is +4.8%. Descriptive context only, not a ranking.

-20%-10%0%+10%+20%Psychiatric hospital median +4.8%SAMARITAN BEHAVIORAL +5.5%-20%0%+20%Psychiatric hospital median +4.8%SAMARITAN BEHAVIORAL +5.5%
One psychiatric hospitalSAMARITAN BEHAVIORALPsychiatric hospital median

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
+5.5% (FY24)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
+11.0% (FY24)
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
4d (FY24)
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
1.88× (FY24)
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
52% (FY24)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
24d (FY24)
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY22FY23FY24
Patient revenue14,62415,16416,073
Other operating revenue1,3942152
Total operating revenue16,01815,16616,225
Total operating expenses15,81317,42215,325
Operating income204(2,256)900
Operating margin %+1.3%-14.9%+5.5%
Other non-operating, net1,2021,295985
Net income1,406(961)1,885
Net income %+8.2%-5.8%+11.0%
— = Not reported in source for that year.
HCRIS Worksheet G-3 / S-3 · $ thousands · FY20–FY24 · where other operating income is not reported, total operating revenue reflects net patient revenue alone · FY20–21 may include COVID-era relief funding in nonoperating income

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 55-bed psychiatric hospital running at 88% occupancy, where the average stay runs 19.2 days, and operating cost runs $862 per patient day.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
88.3%
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
48.70
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
55
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
928
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
19 days
Reported value2024
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$862
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$16,514
Astrelis calculation2024
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
How the care measures up
No public quality measures are reported for this facility in the current Care Compare refresh.

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 5 reporting years
Operating margin
-2.8%+0.1%+1.3%-14.9%+5.5%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24
Days cash on hand
17 days6 days24 days1 day4 daysFY20FY21FY22FY23FY24

The county this hospital serves

WAYNE County, MI · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$59.5K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
20.1%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
5.7%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
16.1%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
24.3%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 13.5% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 27.6% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Wayne County

Illustrative estimate · FY24 cost report
Direct annual spending
$15.3M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$35.2M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin vs its peer poolFY24Astrelis calculation

5.5% operating margin — 51th percentile of 437 peers (FY24 pool).

The Board Briefing

Operating margin improved 20.4 points vs FY23 — the briefing traces why, line by line.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

0.7 points above the cohort median — at current revenue, approximately $113K more operating income than the median rate.

(5.5% facility vs 4.8% peer median) = 0.7 points above the median × $16.2M revenue ≈ $113K more operating income than the median rate
Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
How we calculated this

Operating margin vs its peer pool: FY24 pool · n = 437.

Performance Benchmark Report: FY24 peer pool · n = 437 · conservative low band; acuity limits stated in the report.

Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 11 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc