Astrelis
Psychiatric hospital · Westland, MI

WALTER P REUTHER PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL

CCN 234035Wayne CountyGovernment - StateUrban (USDA RUCC)108 bedsLatest FY 2025
Cost-report basis
HCRIS · as filed
Not audited by Astrelis
The read

A hospital in Westland, MI. It ran an operating surplus of 17.9% in FY25 on $67.5M of operating revenue. Days cash on hand is an Astrelis calculation unavailable for its latest year (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year). 2 reporting years are on file, but revenue scale shifts too much between them for a like-for-like trend, so trend context is limited.

Operating margin · FY25
+17.9%
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Days cash on hand
Astrelis calculation unavailable
all sources
Total operating revenue · FY25
$67.5M
Astrelis calculation · as-filed inputs
not ranked: no valid same-year pool for this metric (needs n ≥ 25 and ≥ 50% of the cohort's filers at FY25)
Total margin · incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation unavailable
One point of operating margin at WALTER P REUTHER PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL is about $675K per year (1% of FY25 total operating revenue).

The money

$ thousands · HCRIS cost-report basis · as filed, QA-gated

Ratios tell you how this hospital is doing. Statements tell you what kind of organization it is, and where the money comes from. Every figure below traces to a public cost-report filing, shown as filed. A ratio computes only when every input is reported in the filing (otherwise its cell states which input is Not reported in source); a year whose balance sheet does not reconcile is labeled, and its derived ratios read Astrelis calculation unavailable. Not audited by Astrelis.

Operating margin
+17.9% (FY25)
Operating income ÷ total operating revenue
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Total margin
Not reported in source
Net income ÷ total revenue incl. nonoperating
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G-3
Days cash on hand
Not reported in source
Cash, investments & board-designated reserves ÷ daily operating expense (excl. depreciation)
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
Current ratio
Not reported in source
Total current assets ÷ current liabilities
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Equity financing ratio
100% (FY25)
Total net assets ÷ total assets
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G
Days in net patient A/R
0d (FY25) — outside expected range; shown at the chart boundary and included in peer statistics
Net patient receivables ÷ (net patient revenue ÷ 365), same fiscal year
Astrelis calculation · HCRIS WS G / G-3
$ in thousands
Line itemFY23FY24FY25
Cash & equivalents000
Accounts receivable000
Other current assets000
Total current assets000
Investments000
Net property, plant & equipment25,00616915,109
Other assets000
Total assets25,00616915,109
Current portion of long-term debt000
Other current liabilities000
Total current liabilities000
Long-term debt, net of current portion000
Other liabilities000
Total liabilities000
Total net assets016915,109
Total liabilities & net assets016915,109
— = Not reported in source for that year.
FY23 shown as filed: the balance sheet does not reconcile within 0.5% on the filing — derived ratios for that year read Astrelis calculation unavailable.
HCRIS Worksheet G · $ thousands · FY20–FY25
Display states. FY25 · Days cash on hand Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY24 · Operating and total margin Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -54,636K · Net patient revenue 9,230KFY24 · Days cash on hand Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY23 · Days cash on hand Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY22 · Operating and total margin Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -51,222K · Net patient revenue 13,599KFY22 · Days cash on hand Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY21 · Operating and total margin Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -50,850K · Net patient revenue 13,615KFY21 · Days cash on hand Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)FY20 · Operating and total margin Astrelis calculation unavailable (the ratio is not meaningful: net patient revenue is near zero on this filing (statement values shown unchanged))Filed inputs: Operating income -45,606K · Net patient revenue 4,027KFY20 · Days cash on hand Astrelis calculation unavailable (the corrected series carries no computable value for this year)

How it operates

quality & operational context · CMS public reporting

A 108-bed psychiatric hospital running at 86% occupancy, where the average stay runs 233.8 days, and operating cost runs $1,633 per patient day.

The metrics this hospital type is judged on: care quality, patient experience, and scale. Each is labeled by provenance class and public source; descriptive context only, never a ranking or adequacy claim. Provenance labels: Reported value is copied from the named public source; Astrelis calculation is a formula applied to unchanged reported inputs, with the formula shown; Illustrative estimate is a benchmark gap, multiplier, or scenario — never a measurement.

Scale and flow
Occupancy
86.0%
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average daily census
93.13
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Staffed beds (acute)
108
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Annual discharges
145
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Average length of stay
234 days
Reported value2025
HCRIS WS S-3
Cost per patient day
$1,633
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ total patient days (HCRIS WS G-3 / S-3)
Cost per discharge (unadjusted)
$381,853
Astrelis calculation2025
Astrelis calculation — total operating expense ÷ discharges, NOT case-mix adjusted (adjusted discharges are not on the public filing set)
How the care measures up
No public quality measures are reported for this facility in the current Care Compare refresh.

Trajectory

Cost-report basis · 6 reporting years
Operating margin
-18.7%+17.9%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25
Days cash on hand
Not available

The county this hospital serves

WAYNE County, MI · metro, 1M+ population
Median household income
$59.5K
vs $82.1K US
Poverty rate
20.1%
vs 12.5% US
Uninsured
5.7%
vs 8.6% US
Age 65+
16.1%
vs 16.8% US
Fair or poor health
24.3%
self-reported, adults · CDC PLACES
Primary-care shortage
Designated
HRSA HPSA
Economic context: 13.5% of county personal income is Medicare/Medicaid medical benefits; 27.6% arrives as government transfers (BEA, 2022).

Illustrative advocacy scenario: what this hospital means to Wayne County

Illustrative estimate · FY25 cost report
Direct annual spending
$55.4M
total operating expense · Reported value, not a local-capture estimate
Economic activity
$127.3M
direct spending × 2.30 · AHA national hospital economic activity report — a national hospital ratio, not a CAH or county figure · Illustrative estimate
Employment and labor income multipliers are from the National Center for Rural Health Works 2016 study of Critical Access Hospital economic impact (IMPLAN Type II, U.S. rural county populations); the economic-activity ratio is from the AHA national hospital economic activity report and describes U.S. hospitals as a whole; it is not a CAH-specific or county-specific figure. Applying any of these to an individual facility is an illustrative advocacy scenario, not a measurement: local capture depends on payroll residency, purchasing patterns, and county economic structure the sources do not observe. This facility is not a critical access hospital, so the NCRHW-derived lines borrow from a different hospital type; the label says so here rather than in the number. Direct figures are reported values from the facility's HCRIS cost report. Want a defensible facility-specific figure? Request a Facility Economic Impact Study →
Operating margin (as filed)FY25Astrelis calculation

17.9% operating margin in FY25.

The Board Briefing

What changed, what matters, and what your board should ask — every figure sourced to the public record.

Reserve The Board Briefing →
Performance Benchmark Report

A facility-specific dollar comparison cannot be calculated because a valid same-year peer pool was not reported. The report still includes all available facility measures, peer benchmarks, and a source-coverage inventory.

Reserve Performance Benchmark Report →
Report coverage: Limited Facility Benchmark. 9 of 17 facility measures available from public sources. The report covers the available measures against their peer benchmarks; measures the public record does not carry become findings. Coverage is disclosed here before you reserve, and thin data is never a decline reason. The refund guarantee stands: if we cannot deliver the published scope, you pay nothing.
build b4c6848142a7 · 2026-08-02 · b6d49cc